logo Web



logo Web

Les activités du CRM
Toutes les activités scientifiques

Téléchargement en PDF

2015 CAP_CRM Prize Recipient

CRM > Prizes > CAP-CRM Prize > Recipients > Charles Gale

2015 CAP-CRM
Charles Gale (McGill University)
[ français ]

Details of the March 11, 2016 lecture at the CRM

The Canadian Association of Physicists (CAP) and the Centre de recherches mathématiques (CRM) are pleased to announce that the 2015 CAP-CRM Prize in Theoretical and Mathematical Physics is awarded to Charles Gale, McGill University, for his distinguished original research contributions to three areas of theoretical nuclear physics: the determination of the equation of state from medium energy heavy ion collisions, the use of photons, lepton pairs and jets as probes of the hot and dense matter formed in high energy heavy ion collisions, and the implementation of a state-of-the-art computer code for 3+1 dimensional second-order viscous relativistic fluid dynamics for heavy ion collisions.

Charles Gale made seminal theoretical work in theoretical subatomic physics, in particular in the field of relativistic nuclear collisions and of finite-temperature field theory. He made many original contributions to the knowledge of the dense nuclear matter equation of state, and to transport theory in nuclear reactions at high energies. He is well known for his pioneering work on the emission of electromagnetic radiation from the strongly interacting plasma formed in the relativistic collisions of heavy nuclei. His recent work is on 3+1 dimensional relativistic viscous hydrodynamics, an approach that has become the cornerstone of the modern modeling of relativistic nuclear collisions. Professor Gale has also co-authored an authoritative textbook on field theories at finite temperature, a text that has established itself as the standard reference in its field, and that it is used by a wide spectrum of the astrophysics, nuclear and particle physics communities.

The annual CAP-CRM Prize in Theoretical and Mathematical Physics was first introduced in 1995.

Prof. Gale will be presented with his medal at the 2015 CAP Congress (hosted by the University of Alberta in Edmonton, Alberta, from June 15-19) at the end of his plenary talk and will be recognized during the Congress Recognition Reception at the Art Gallery on Thursday, June 18, 2015. Please refer to the Congress program for the schedule of plenary talks by CAP medal winners.

The Canadian Association of Physicists, founded in 1945, is a professional association representing over 1600 individual physicists and physics students in Canada, the U.S. and overseas, as well as a number of Corporate, Institutional, and Departmental Members. In addition to its learned activities, the CAP also undertakes a number of activities intended to encourage students to pursue a career in physics.

The Centre de recherches mathématiques (CRM) is a national research institute of international scope in the mathematical sciences including theoretical physics. It is supported in part by the National Science and Engineering Research Council (NSERC) of Canada, the Fonds de Recherche du Québec - Nature et Technologies (FRQNT) and its university partners. The multi-university CRM is based at the Université de Montréal. Among the activities of the CRM are thematic years, summer schools, workshops, conferences and seminars. The CRM has some 250 researchers grouped into 12 laboratories, and hosts every year around 2000 visitors from all over the world. The CRM has as well an important training program. It publishes monographs, proceedings, and lecture notes in mathematics and physics. It also has outreach activities with high schools and the general public. The CRM boasts an innovation platform that focuses on liaison and transfer with the private sector.

For more information, please contact:

Canadian Association of Physicists
Tel: 613-562-5614
Fax: 613-562-5615
E-mail: cap@uottawa.ca

Centre de recherches mathématiques
Tel: 514-343-7501
Fax: 514-343-2254

Prix - Menu
The CRM created and administers, either alone or jointly, four of the eight major national prizes in the mathematical sciences, namely:  the CRM–Fields–PIMS Prize,  the Prize for Theoretical Physics awarded in collaboration with the Canadian Association of Physicists (CAP), the Prize for young researchers in Statistics awarded jointly with the Statistical Society of Canada (SSC), and the CRM Aisenstadt Prize awarded to rising young Canadian stars, selected by CRM's Scientific Advisory Panel. The CRM has invested enormously in time, effort and in its own resources, to propel leading Canadian scientists into the spotlight, giving them international recognition when they most need it. 

CRM–Fields–PIMS Prize