logo Web


logo Web

Events at the CRM

PDF version

André-Aisenstadt Awarding

CRM > Prizes > André Aisenstadt Prize > awarding
André Aisenstadt Prize Awarding [ français ]
(see detailed menu on the right)

The Prize — Call for nominations

The Centre de recherches mathématiques (CRM) solicits nominations for the André Aisenstadt Mathematics Prize, awarded to recognize talented young Canadian mathematicians. This Prize celebrates outstanding research achievement by a young Canadian mathematician and consists of a monetary award and a medal.

The recipient is chosen by the CRM’s International Scientific Advisory Committee. The prize is generally awarded yearly, although in a given year the decision may be made not to award it. Candidates must be no more than seven years from their Ph.D., and be either Canadian citizens or permanent residents of Canada, or hold a tenure-track academic position in Canada.

To be eligible for the André Aisenstadt Prize in the year N, a candidate must have received his/her Ph.D. (or equivalent degree) in the year N - 8 or subsequently. The committee may exceptionally consider candidates who have received their degree prior but very near to the year N - 8, if it can be demonstrated that special circumstances, such as parental leaves or other leaves of absence from work, delayed professional achievements.

The recipient is invited to deliver a lecture at the CRM and to write a brief article on his or her work for publication in the Bulletin of the CRM.

The deadline for nominations is March 1st of the calendar year. The nominations should be submitted to the Director of the CRM, by at least two sponsors who are responsible for providing the following information:

• a curriculum vitae,
• a list of publications,
• a cover letter explaining the basis of the nomination,
• up to four reprints,
• and a maximum of four letters of support.

Unselected nominations remain active for two further years if not withdrawn and provided they still meet the Prize eligibility criteria. The nominations can be updated if desired.

Please submit nominations by email to:
Email: nominations@crm.umontreal.ca

Update - 09/04/20, 14:57:14
Prix - Menu
The CRM created and administers, either alone or jointly, four of the eight major national prizes in the mathematical sciences, namely:  the CRM–Fields–PIMS Prize,  the Prize for Theoretical Physics awarded in collaboration with the Canadian Association of Physicists (CAP), the Prize for young researchers in Statistics awarded jointly with the Statistical Society of Canada (SSC), and the CRM Aisenstadt Prize awarded to rising young Canadian stars, selected by CRM's Scientific Advisory Panel. The CRM has invested enormously in time, effort and in its own resources, to propel leading Canadian scientists into the spotlight, giving them international recognition when they most need it. 

CRM–Fields–PIMS Prize