logo Web


logo Web

Events at the CRM

PDF version

CRM-Fields-PIMS Prize Awarding Rules
CRM > Prizes > CRM-Fields-PIMS prize > prize awarding
CRM-Fields-PIMS Prize Awarding Rules [ français ]

(see detailed menu on the right)

The Centre de recherches mathématiques (CRM), the Fields Institute, and the Pacific Institute for the Mathematical Sciences (PIMS) invite nominations for the joint CRM-Fields-PIMS prize, awarded in recognition of exceptional research achievement in the mathematical sciences. The candidate's research should have been conducted primarily in Canada or in affiliation with a Canadian university.

The main selection criterion is outstanding contribution to the advancement of research. The winner receives a monetary award, and an invitation to present a lecture at each institute within one year after the award is announced.

The prize was established as the CRM-Fields prize in 1994. Renamed in 2005, the 2007 and later prizes are awarded jointly by all three institutes.

The selection committee formed by the three institutes will select a recipient on the basis of outstanding contributions to the advancement of the mathematical sciences, with excellence in research as the main selection criterion.

A monetary prize will be awarded and the recipient will be asked to present a lecture at each of CRM, the Fields Institute, and PIMS.

The dealine to submit nominations is November 1st each year, by at least two sponsors of recognized stature, and should include the following elements:
- 3 supporting letters,
- a curriculum vitae,
- a list of publications,
- and up to four preprints.

Nominations will remain active for two years. During any academic year, at most one prize will be awarded.

Deadline to submit nominations is November 1st, 2021, to: nominations@pims.math.ca.
Only electronic submissions will be accepted, and complete nominations must be submitted in a single pdf file.

The Selection Committee

The awardee is chosen by a selection committee. The committee will be appointed by the institutes in the following way:

1) The scientific panel of each of the three institutes will nominate two members, for a total of six members. The members must be mathematicians (in a broad sense) of international stature who need not be Canadian, but who should have a good knowledge of the mathematical research carried out in Canada. The members may be, but need not be, members of the scientific panels of the institutes.

2) Committee members will serve for two years, with the exception of the first set of members. In this first set, three members (one appointed by each institute) will have a 2-year term, and three will have a 1-year term. All subsequent appointments will be for two years. Committee members cannot serve consecutive terms, and cannot be reappointed until a period of at least two years has passed. If committee members cease to serve before the end of their term, then the institute that appointed them will appoint a replacement to fill the unexpired term.

Each year the committee will elect a member to act as chair. The committee will act by consensus, and may choose not to award the prize in a given year if no suitable candidate emerges. If the committee wishes to schedule a face-to-face meeting during the Winter CMS meeting, their additional travel expenses will be borne by the institutes. However, the committee may choose to conduct their deliberations by telephone and e-mail.

3) Principal responsibility for preparing the call for nominations, beginning the selection process and announcing the winner will circulate among the three institutes, with Fields taking the lead when the process begins in years divisible by 3, CRM in years whose residue is 1 (mod 3) and PIMS in years = 2 (mod 3). This includes circulating a call for nominations to be published in the newsletters of the institutes and of CMS, CAIMS and SSC, in August or September, and preparing a press release to be circulated to the learned societies and the home institution of the awardee.


The committee will have a two-fold mandate: to ensure an outstanding pool of nominations, including solicitation of specific applications; secondly, the committee will be responsible for the selection of the prize winner according to the current criteria of the prize (these criteria and conditions of elegibility must appear in the call for proposals). The committee is encouraged to award the prize to a single person, but can also, exceptionally, award the prize to more than one person or choose to give no award. The committee's decision is final.

The committee, during its first two years of existence, should arrive at a proposal to materialize the prize in the form of a medal, statue, document, etc. that would replace the usual photograph taken with a cheque. This should be done in consultation with the institutes.

Update - 01/26/16, 14:06:43
Prix - Menu
The CRM created and administers, either alone or jointly, four of the eight major national prizes in the mathematical sciences, namely:  the CRM–Fields–PIMS Prize,  the Prize for Theoretical Physics awarded in collaboration with the Canadian Association of Physicists (CAP), the Prize for young researchers in Statistics awarded jointly with the Statistical Society of Canada (SSC), and the CRM Aisenstadt Prize awarded to rising young Canadian stars, selected by CRM's Scientific Advisory Panel. The CRM has invested enormously in time, effort and in its own resources, to propel leading Canadian scientists into the spotlight, giving them international recognition when they most need it. 

CRM–Fields–PIMS Prize