logo Web


logo Web

Events at the CRM

PDF version

CRM-SSC prize awarding

CRM > Prizes> CRM-SSC prize > CRM-SSC prize awarding

CRM-SSC Prize Awarding [ français ]

(see detailed menu on the right)

The Centre de recherches mathématiques (CRM) and the Statistical Society of Canada (SSC) solicit nominations for the CRM-SSC Prize, which is awarded in recognition of a statistical scientist’s professional accomplishments in research during the first fifteen years after earning a doctorate.

This award recognizes a statistical scientist's excellence and accomplishments in research during the first fifteen years after earning his/her doctorate (or equivalent degree). The award, which includes a $ 3,000 cash prize, is bestowed upon a Canadian citizen or permanent resident whose work was carried out primarily in Canada.

To be eligible for a prize awarded in year N, a candidate must have received his/her Ph.D. (or equivalent degree) in year N - 15 or subsequently. The committee may exceptionally consider candidates who have received their degree prior but very near to year N - 15, if it can be demonstrated that special circumstances, such as parental leaves or other leaves of absence from work, delayed professional achievements. Current membership in the Statistical Society of Canada is not a prerequisite.

Nominations should be addressed to the Director of the Centre de recherches mathématiques, and sent via e-mail to nomination@crm.umontreal.ca by February 1 of the calendar year in which the award is to be made. The nomination should be accompanied by at least three and no more than four letters of support, an up-to-date curriculum vitae, including a list of publications, and a suggested citation to accompany the award. The award is normally presented at the Annual Meeting of the SSC. The awardee is expected to give a presentation about his/her research work at the SSC meeting and at the Centre de recherches mathématiques. As nomination files are not carried over from one year to the next, nominations must be renewed each year.

Update - 01/26/16, 14:06:15
Prix - Menu
The CRM created and administers, either alone or jointly, four of the eight major national prizes in the mathematical sciences, namely:  the CRM–Fields–PIMS Prize,  the Prize for Theoretical Physics awarded in collaboration with the Canadian Association of Physicists (CAP), the Prize for young researchers in Statistics awarded jointly with the Statistical Society of Canada (SSC), and the CRM Aisenstadt Prize awarded to rising young Canadian stars, selected by CRM's Scientific Advisory Panel. The CRM has invested enormously in time, effort and in its own resources, to propel leading Canadian scientists into the spotlight, giving them international recognition when they most need it. 

CRM–Fields–PIMS Prize