logo Web


logo Web

Events at the CRM

PDF version

CAP-CRM prize awarding

CRM > Prizes > CAP-CRM prize > CAP-CRM prize awarding

CAP-CRM prize [ français ]

(see detailed menu on the right)

Eligibility, criterion and continuity

A selection committee established by the CAP Division of Theoretical Physics and the CRM has the mandate to choose the laureate of this prize on the basis of outstanding contributions to the advancement of the field. The main selection criterion is excellence in research.

The candidate's research should have been carried primarily in Canada or in affiliation with a Canadian university or industry. Nominations are valid for three (3) years.

Nominations must be submitted by OCTOBER 06, by at least one sponsor and should include the following:

1. The completed online nomination form available on the web site, and a supporting letter from the nominator.

2. A curriculum vitae for the nominee of 20 pages maximum, including a list of publications and a list of awards, grants, and other evidence of exceptional impact on the field. It need not contain routine information on service on university committees and other similar commitments.

3. A short summary (one page or less) of the candidate’s major contributions to mathematical physics.

4. Three letters from referees with recognized expertise in the candidate’s field. Letters should particularly address the quality, originality, and significance of the candidate's work, as shown by citations and other such evidence of impact.

5. A short description of the significance and impact of up to five (5) important papers, in a format similar to that in the NSERC Form 100.

6. A citation of 300 words or less suitable for public dissemination if the nominee is selected as the medal recipient (submitted in plain text format, cut and pasted into the online nomination form).

7. A photograph of the nominee. (This can be a low resolution photograph, which may be retrievable from the nominee's worksite. The nominee will be asked for a high resolution photo if selected as medal recipient). Please note that this is not required in order to complete the file but will speed up the announcement of the medal winner.

There will be at most one prize each year, to be awarded at the annual congress of the Canadian Association of Physicists. The laureate will be invited to give a lecture at the CAP annual congress. A commemorative medal and $3,000 will be given to the laureate at the CAP Congress.

To make a nomination, please make your submission according to the instructions found on this page.

Update - 03/06/14, 10:51:13
Prix - Menu
The CRM created and administers, either alone or jointly, four of the eight major national prizes in the mathematical sciences, namely:  the CRM–Fields–PIMS Prize,  the Prize for Theoretical Physics awarded in collaboration with the Canadian Association of Physicists (CAP), the Prize for young researchers in Statistics awarded jointly with the Statistical Society of Canada (SSC), and the CRM Aisenstadt Prize awarded to rising young Canadian stars, selected by CRM's Scientific Advisory Panel. The CRM has invested enormously in time, effort and in its own resources, to propel leading Canadian scientists into the spotlight, giving them international recognition when they most need it. 

CRM–Fields–PIMS Prize