logo Web


logo Web

Events at the CRM

PDF version

André-Aisenstadt prize 2007 - Alexander Holroyd

CRM > Prizes > André-Aisenstadt Prize > Recipients > Alexander E. Holroyd
André-Aisenstadt Prize 2007 - Alexander E. Holroyd
[ français ]

Conference details

Alexander E. Holroyd was educated at the University of Cambridge, where he obtained his Ph.D. in mathematics in 2000 under the supervision of Geoffrey Grimmett. Subsequently he became a Hedrick Assistant Professor at UCLA, then a Postdoctoral Fellow at the University of California at Berkeley. Since 2002 he has been at the University of British Columbia, where he is now Associate Professor. In 2004, he was awarded the Rollo Davidson Prize, an annual international prize for young probabilists.

Dr. Holroyd is an outstanding young probabilist, with broad research interests. His work is focussed on discrete spatial models, including cellular automata, percolation, matching, traffic models, and sorting networks. Despite his youth he is already a major figure in this multi-disciplinary area. One of his most striking achievements is the determination of the exact threshold for bootstrap percolation, an important example of a cellular automata. The prize will be given on April 5, 2007 at CRM.

Update - 03/06/07, 12:12:21 webmaster@CRM.UMontreal.CA
Prix - Menu
The CRM created and administers, either alone or jointly, four of the eight major national prizes in the mathematical sciences, namely:  the CRM–Fields–PIMS Prize,  the Prize for Theoretical Physics awarded in collaboration with the Canadian Association of Physicists (CAP), the Prize for young researchers in Statistics awarded jointly with the Statistical Society of Canada (SSC), and the CRM Aisenstadt Prize awarded to rising young Canadian stars, selected by CRM's Scientific Advisory Panel. The CRM has invested enormously in time, effort and in its own resources, to propel leading Canadian scientists into the spotlight, giving them international recognition when they most need it. 

CRM–Fields–PIMS Prize