logo Web


logo Web

Events at the CRM

PDF version

André Aisenstadt prize 2006 - Iosif Polterovich

CRM > Prizes > André Aisenstadt Prize > Recipients > Iosif Polterovich
André Aisenstadt Prize 2006 - Iosif Polterovich [ français ]

Information on the conference

The conference in pictures

The 2006 André Aisenstadt Prize is awarded jointly to Iosif Polterovich of the University of Montreal, and Tai-Peng Tsai of the University of British Columbia.

After obtaining his Master's degree from Moscow State University in 1995, Dr. Polterovich obtained his doctorate from the Weizmann Institute in 2000. Following postdoctoral experiences at the CRM, MSRI and the Max Planck Institute, Dr. Polterovich began a tenure track position at the University of Montreal, in 2002.

Dr. Polterovich works in geometric spectral theory, his broad variety of results being notable for both their importance and novelty. Perhaps most exciting was Polterovich's announcement in 2000 of an "explicit" formula for the heat invariants of a Riemannian manifold; these geometric invariants had been studied for more than fifty years, yet Polterovich presented them in a striking and useful way, which will undoubtedly be central to much forthcoming research by him and others.

Update - 05/27/14, 15:57:50 webmaster@CRM.UMontreal.CA
Prix - Menu
The CRM created and administers, either alone or jointly, four of the eight major national prizes in the mathematical sciences, namely:  the CRM–Fields–PIMS Prize,  the Prize for Theoretical Physics awarded in collaboration with the Canadian Association of Physicists (CAP), the Prize for young researchers in Statistics awarded jointly with the Statistical Society of Canada (SSC), and the CRM Aisenstadt Prize awarded to rising young Canadian stars, selected by CRM's Scientific Advisory Panel. The CRM has invested enormously in time, effort and in its own resources, to propel leading Canadian scientists into the spotlight, giving them international recognition when they most need it. 

CRM–Fields–PIMS Prize