logo Web


logo Web

Events at the CRM

PDF version

2010 CAP_CRM Prize Recipient

CRM > Prizes > CAP-CRM Prize > Recipients > Luc Vinet

2012 CAP-CRM
Luc Vinet (Université de Montréal) [ français ]

Learn more about the conference

The Canadian Association of Physicists (CAP) and the Centre de recherches mathématiques (CRM) are pleased to announce that the 2012 CAP-CRM Prize in Theoretical And Mathematical Physics is awarded to Luc Vinet, University of Montreal, for his outstanding and continued contributions to mathematical physics, mainly based on the study of symmetries, algebraic structures, and special functions.

Luc Vinet is one of Canada's leading mathematical and theoretical physicists who has made outstanding contributions in numerous areas. The unifying feature of his research is the innovative use of group theoretical and algebraic methods, the emphasis on exact solutions of physical problems and the originality of his approach.

He has made important contributions that have had great impact on both physics and mathematics. His early remarkable work was on gauge field theories in particular on exact invariant solutions of Yang –Mills equations in Minkowski space. Also early in his career he identified the symmetries and supersymmetries of magnetic monopole systems. He explored various algebraic structures appropriate to describe symmetries in different physical problems. These go well beyond standard Lie groups and algebras. They include polynomial, quantum, super- and parasuper- algebras. He is very well known for his influential work on quantum many body problems and for his application of this work to a proof of the long outstanding Macdonald conjecture on properties of multivariate orthogonal polynomials. His contributions to the symmetry theory of difference and q-difference equations are truly pioneering.

Remarkably, Vinet's scientific career was not interrupted by his heavy administrative duties as Director of the Centre de Recherches Mathematiques, then Provost of McGill University and finally Rector of the Universite de Montreal. He continued to publish highly innovative work during his administrative tenure and is now going through a new burst of creativity. Quite recently, in 2011, he has discovered new families of orthogonal polynomials, associated to reflections. These have already found many applications. In the context of quantum information theory, he has shown how spin chains can be used to design perfect quantum wires.

The CAP-CRM Prize in Theoretical and Mathematical Physics is intended to recognize research excellence in the fields of theoretical and mathematical physics. This prize was first introduced in 1995 and has been awarded annually since.

Dr. Vinet was presented with the 2012 CAP-CRM Prize in Theoretical and Mathematical Physics at the 2012 CAP Congress (hosted by the University of Calgary in Alberta - June 11-15, 2012) at the end of his plenary talk and will be recognized during the Congress banquet to be held on Thursday, June 14th, 2012.

The Canadian Association of Physicists, founded in 1945, is a professional association representing over 1600 individual physicists and physics students in Canada, the U.S. and overseas, as well as a number of Corporate, Institutional, and Departmental Members. In addition to its learned activities, the CAP also undertakes a number of activities intended to encourage students to pursue a career in physics.

Prix - Menu
The CRM created and administers, either alone or jointly, four of the eight major national prizes in the mathematical sciences, namely:  the CRM–Fields–PIMS Prize,  the Prize for Theoretical Physics awarded in collaboration with the Canadian Association of Physicists (CAP), the Prize for young researchers in Statistics awarded jointly with the Statistical Society of Canada (SSC), and the CRM Aisenstadt Prize awarded to rising young Canadian stars, selected by CRM's Scientific Advisory Panel. The CRM has invested enormously in time, effort and in its own resources, to propel leading Canadian scientists into the spotlight, giving them international recognition when they most need it. 

CRM–Fields–PIMS Prize