Français >

Home

This is an annual summer school in pure and applied mathematics that has taken place for more than fifty years on the campus of the University of Montreal. Focused on a hot current research topic, the SMS brings together top quality lecturers and students from all over the world. The school is targeted mainly towards advanced graduate students. It consists of roughly 12 courses of around four one-hour lectures, each spread over two weeks. The courses are attended by around 40 to 60 students selected on a competitive basis. The lectures are published in a volume after the end of the meeting. Financial support for the accepted students is available.

Initiated in 1961 by the Mathematics and Statistics department of the Université de Montréal, the school was initially funded by the NATO science program. Since 2011, the school has CRM as the main partner, and it is a joint endeavor of the Canadian Mathematical Institutes (CRM, Fields, PIMS) together with the MSRI. It also receives the support of the ISM, the UdeM as well as the CMS.

All decisions concerning the school, in particular the selection of future programs is made by the SMS steering board currently consisting of:

Hélène Barcelo (MSRI), Octav Cornea (Université de Montréal), Henri Darmon (McGill University), Huaxiong Huang (Fields), Zinovy Reichstein (PIMS) and Iosif Polterovich (Université de Montréal, Director of the SMS).

English >

Accueil

Le SMS est une école d'été annuelle en mathématiques pures et appliquées qui se déroule depuis plus de 50 ans sur le campus de l'Université de Montréal. Axé sur un sujet de recherche d'actualité, le SMS rassemble des conférenciers de haut niveau et des étudiants du monde entier. L'école est principalement destinée aux étudiants de troisième cycle. Il se compose d'environ 12 cours de quatre conférences d'une heure chacune, réparties sur deux semaines. Environ 40 à 60 étudiants sélectionnés sur une base compétitive suivent les cours. Les conférences sont publiées dans un volume après la fin de la réunion. Un soutien financier pour les étudiants acceptés est disponible.

Créée en 1961 par le Département de mathématiques et de statistique de l'Université de Montréal, cette école était initialement financée par le programme scientifique de l'OTAN. Depuis 2011, le CRM est le principal partenaire de l'école. Il s'agit d'une initiative conjointe des Instituts mathématiques du Canada (CRM, Fields, PIMS) et du MSRI. Il reçoit également le soutien de l'ISM, de l'UdeM et du CMS.

Toutes les décisions concernant l'école, en particulier le choix des futurs programmes, sont prises par le comité de pilotage du SMS, actuellement composé de:

Hélène Barcelo (MSRI), Octav Cornea (Université de Montréal), Henri Darmon (Université McGill), Huaxiong Huang (Fields), Zinovy Reichstein (PIMS) and Iosif Polterovich (Université de Montréal, Directeur du SMS).