Franšais >

About the SMS

Scientific and financial partners: The SMS is widely supported by the Canadian mathematical community as well as at the North-American level. Institutional participants and sponsors of this endeavor are: the Centre de Recherche Mathematiques de Montreal (CRM-principal partner), the Fields Institute of Mathematical Sciences, the Pacific Institute for Mathematical Sciences (PIMS), the Mathematical Sciences Research Institute (MSRI), the Institut de Sciences Mathematiques de Montreal (ISM), the Department of mathematics of the University of Montreal (UdeM) and the Canadian Mathematical Society (CMS).

Governance: The main decisions concerning the school and, in particular, the selection of the scientific subjects and organizing teams, are the responsibility of the SMS steering board.  The board is appointed for a period of four years. The organizing teams are selected by the board on the basis of a call for applications - distributed widely in the mathematical community - that takes place about two years in advance of each event. An application consists mainly of a description of the scientific interest of the particular theme as well as of a proposed list of speakers.

Selection of the students: The main criterion in the selection of the students is scientific qualifications. Participation of women and minorities is encouraged. Accepted students will generally receive full support covering local accommodation for the duration of the school in the University of Montreal student housing. In many cases, partial or full travel support will be also provided on a competitive basis.

English >

À propos du SMS

Partenaires scientifiques et financiers: le SMS est autant soutenu par la communauté mathématique canadienne que nord-américain. Les participants institutionnels et les parrains de cette initiative sont: le Centre de recherche mathématique de Montréal (partenaire principal), le Fields Institute, le Pacific Institute for Mathematical Sciences (PIMS), le Mathematical Sciences Research Institute (MSRI), l'Institut de Sciences Mathématiques de Montréal (ISM), le département de mathématiques de l'Université de Montréal (UdeM) et la Société mathématique du Canada (CMS).

Gouvernance: les principales décisions concernant l'école et, en particulier, la sélection des sujets scientifiques et les équipes d'organisation, relèvent du comité de direction du SMS. Le comité est nommé pour une période de quatre ans. Les équipes organisatrices sont sélectionnées par le conseil d’administration sur la base d’un appel à candidatures - largement distribué dans la communauté mathématique - qui se déroule environ deux ans avant chaque événement. Une candidature consiste principalement en une description de l’intérêt scientifique du thème considéré ainsi qu’une liste de conférenciers proposée.

Sélection des étudiants: le critère principal dans la sélection des étudiants est la qualification scientifique. La participation des femmes et des minorités est encouragée. Les étudiants acceptés recevront généralement un soutien complet couvrant l'hébergement local pour la durée de l'école dans le logement étudiant de l'Université de Montréal. Dans de nombreux cas, une assistance voyage partielle ou complète sera également fournie sur une base concurrentielle.