Overview

[ Français ]

Mixed-integer nonlinear programming (MINLP) is concerned with finding optimal solutions to mathematical-optimization models that combine both discrete and (continuous) nonlinear elements. Models with this flavor arise in important applications in many domains, notably chemical engineering, energy, and transportation. Moreover, the well-developed frameworks for discrete and continuous optimization are not sufficient in themselves to attack this broad class of models. The underlying mathematical complexity is not as well understood due to the combination of how non-convexities arise from both the discrete and nonlinear elements. In particular, there remain theoretical, algorithmic and computational challenges before MINLP can enjoy a success similar to, say, smooth optimization or integer linear programming. These research challenges, together with the potential for remarkable impact, make MINLP arguably the most exciting new frontier in mathematical optimization. MINLP has caught the attention of all major optimization societies which have fostered work in this area. MINLP has also established new and significant links between industry and academia.

The thematic activity hosted by the Centre de Recherche Mathématiques of Montréal will feature visits for the entire month of six distinguished researchers:

  • Amitabh Basu (Johns Hopkins U, USA)
  • Claudia D'Ambrosio (CNRS, France)
  • Marcia Fampa (Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro, Brasil)
  • Jean-Bernard Lasserre (CNRS, France)
  • Jon Lee (U Michigan, USA)
  • Ruth Misener (Imperial College, UK)

They will animate a regular series of seminars and tutorial sessions.

In addition to that series, the activity will feature a workshop organized and funded in cooperation with DIMACS to be held on October 7-10, 2019. Most oral presentations of the workshop will be given by invited speakers. Confirmed speakers are:

  • Amir Ali Ahmadi
  • Dan Bienstock
  • Christoph Buchheim
  • Santanu Dey
  • Aida Khajavirad
  • Leo Liberti
  • Jeff Linderoth
  • Sebastian Sager
  • Nick Sahinidis
  • Renata Sotirov
  • Mohit Tawarmalani
  • Juan Pablo Vielma
  • Robert Weismantel

In addition to oral presentations, a poster session will showcase recent developments by both academic and industrial participants. Authors interested in contributing papers to the workshop, please email by clicking on this link by August 15, 2019.

Contributed papers will be included mostly in the poster session, although opportunities for oral presentations may arise.

Limited support to students for attending the workshop might be provided. Interested students should apply by email by clicking on this link by September 1, 2019, with a supporting letter from their supervisor.

Venue: Université de Montréal Campus

Registration: Early registration fee $75 CAD by August 15
Late registration fee 125 CAD by September 15
Montreal-based students will be treated in a separate way, please send an email by clicking on this link by September 15.

Survol

[ English ]

La programmation non linéaire à nombres entiers mixtes (MINLP) vise à trouver des solutions optimales aux modèles d'optimisation mathématique combinant des éléments discrets et non linéaires (continus). Les modèles de ce type apparaissent dans des applications importantes dans de nombreux domaines, notamment le génie chimique, l'énergie et les transports. De plus, les cadres bien développés pour une optimisation discrète et continue ne sont pas suffisants en eux-mêmes pour attaquer cette vaste classe de modèles. La complexité mathématique sous-jacente n'est pas aussi bien comprise en raison de la combinaison de la façon dont les non-convexités résultent des éléments discrets et non linéaires. En particulier, il reste encore des défis théoriques, algorithmiques et informatiques à relever avant que MINLP puisse obtenir un succès similaire à celui de l'optimisation régulière ou de la programmation linéaire en nombres entiers. Ces défis de recherche, associés à un potentiel d'impact remarquable, font de MINLP la nouvelle frontière la plus excitante en matière d'optimisation mathématique. Le MINLP a attiré l'attention de toutes les grandes sociétés d'optimisation qui ont encouragé les travaux dans ce domaine. Le MINLP a également établi de nouveaux liens importants entre l'industrie et le monde universitaire.

L'activité thématique organisée par le Centre de recherche en mathématiques de Montréal comportera des visites tout au long du mois de six chercheurs distingués:

  • Amitabh Basu (Johns Hopkins U, USA)
  • Claudia D'Ambrosio (CNRS, France)
  • Marcia Fampa (Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro, Brasil)
  • Jean-Bernard Lasserre (CNRS, France)
  • Jon Lee (U Michigan, USA)
  • Ruth Misener (Imperial College, UK)

Ils animeront une série régulière de séminaires et de séances de tutorat.

En plus de cette série, l'activité comportera un atelier organisé et financé en coopération avec DIMACS qui se tiendra du 7 au 10 octobre 2019. La plupart des présentations orales de l'atelier seront présentées par des conférenciers invités. Les conférenciers confirmés sont:

  • Amir Ali Ahmadi
  • Dan Bienstock
  • Christoph Buchheim
  • Santanu Dey
  • Aida Khajavirad
  • Leo Liberti
  • Jeff Linderoth
  • Sebastian Sager
  • Nick Sahinidis
  • Renata Sotirov
  • Mohit Tawarmalani
  • Juan Pablo Vielma
  • Robert Weismantel

En plus des présentations orales, une session par affiches présentera les développements récents des participants académiques et industriels. Les auteurs intéressés à contribuer des articles à l'atelier, veuillez envoyer un courriel en cliquant sur ce lien avant le 15 août 2019.

Les contributions apportées seront principalement incluses dans la session de posters, bien que des présentations orales puissent éventuellement se présenter.

Un soutien limité aux étudiants pour assister à l'atelier peut être fourni. Les étudiants intéressés doivent s'inscrire par courrier électronique en cliquant sur ce lien avant le 1er septembre 2019, avec une lettre d'appui de leur superviseur.

Lieu: campus de l'Université de Montréal

Inscription: Frais d'inscription anticipée 75$ CAD d'ici le 15 août
Frais d'inscription tardive 125$ CAD d'ici le 15 septembre
Les étudiants montréalais seront traités de façon distincte. Veuillez envoyer un courriel en cliquant sur ce lien avant le 15 septembre.