logo Web


logo Web

Events at the CRM

PDF version

CRM-Fields-PIMS prize

CRM > Prizes > CRM-Fields-PIMS Prize > Recipients > Dawson
Donald Dawson (Carleton)
[ français ]

(see detailed menu on the right)

CRM-Fields Prize 2004: Donald Dawson

CRM-Fields Prize for 2004 is awarded to Professor Donald Dawson in recognition of his exceptional achievement and work in probability.

The Centre de recherches mathématiques and The Fields Institute established the CRM-Fields prize in 1994 to recognize exceptional work in the mathematical sciences. The recipient is chosen by a selection committee made up of members of the Advisory Committee of the CRM and the Scientific Advisory Panel of the Fields Institute.

Donald Dawson, this year’s recipient, is one of the world's leading probabilists, having made seminal contributions to the study of spatially distributed stochastic processes and infinite-dimensional branching systems, among those being the Dawson-Watanabe superprocess. He received his B.Sc. from McGill in 1958 and his doctorate from MIT in 1963.

Professor Dawson taught at both McGill University and Carleton University, where he is now Professor Emeritus. His leadership within the Canadian mathematical community includes a term as Director of the Fields Institute from 1996 to 2000. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, as well as of the International Statistical Institute and the Institute of Mathematical Statistics.

Other honours include 1991 Gold Medal Lecture of the Statistical Society of Canada, the 1994 Jeffery-Williams lecture of the CMS, an invited lecture at the 1994 ICM, as well as the Fields Institute's Distinguished Lecture Series in the Statistical Sciences. His numerous editorial contributions include serving as co-editor-in-chief of the Canadian Journal of Mathematics. He has served his profession through numerous NSERC and CMS committees, and is currently president-elect of the Bernoulli Society for Mathematical Statistics and Probability.

Professor Don Dawson's conference entitled Stochastic Dynamics of Evolving Populations took place on November 12, 2004.


Prix - Menu
The CRM created and administers, either alone or jointly, four of the eight major national prizes in the mathematical sciences, namely:  the CRM–Fields–PIMS Prize,  the Prize for Theoretical Physics awarded in collaboration with the Canadian Association of Physicists (CAP), the Prize for young researchers in Statistics awarded jointly with the Statistical Society of Canada (SSC), and the CRM Aisenstadt Prize awarded to rising young Canadian stars, selected by CRM's Scientific Advisory Panel. The CRM has invested enormously in time, effort and in its own resources, to propel leading Canadian scientists into the spotlight, giving them international recognition when they most need it. 

CRM–Fields–PIMS Prize