Responsive image

CRM-EDI COMMITTEE

BIOGRAPHY

Véronique Hussin is a full professor in the Department of Mathematics & Statistics at the University of Montréal. She served as Head of Department for two terms, 2005-09 and 2010-12. In 2012, on behalf of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences, she was appointed Director of SAFIRE. This is a specialised service department that manages a range of faculty-wide programs for ensuring students have the skills and credits they need for academic success in their chosen areas of specialisation.
Véronique obtained a PhD from the University of Liège (Belgium). Her area of research is mathematical physics, focusing on the study of the mathematical and physical properties of integrable and solvable systems in both quantum and classical mechanics.

BIOGRAPHY

Rosalie Bélanger-Rioux is a faculty lecturer in the Department of Mathematics and Statistics at McGill University. She teaches there, and participates in various efforts to better support students: student life, diversity and inclusion, pedagogy, etc.
Prior to that, Rosalie was in a similar position at Harvard University in the United States. She received her bachelor's degree in applied mathematics from McGill University, and her doctorate in applied mathematics from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

BIOGRAPHY

Broderick Causley is a PhD Candidate at McGill University interested in asymptotic analysis and spectral geometry. He completed his masters at Higher School of Economics (Moscow) and bachelors at Algoma University (Sault Ste. Marie). Broderick is passionate about storytelling and teaching, and is an avid weaver.

Broderick Causley's EDI Statement

When you ask a child what a mathematician looks like, where does their answer come from, and how does that image manifest itself in our current mathematical society? Tackling EDI issues, both visible and invisible, can often be helped by taking a step back to reflect. I am happy to be on CRM's EDI committee and excited to see what we can achieve together.

BIOGRAPHY

I am a Full Professor in the Department of Mathematics and Statistics at McGill University. I view myself as an applied mathematician, and broadly speaking, my research lies in the study and application of variational problems. I was born into the Parsi community in India. My family and I emigrated to Canada when I was two years of age. Growing up, I discovered that my sexual orientation and outward appearance were sometimes at odds with the society I grew up in, and I experienced the difficulties and isolation felt by many minorities in Canada, both personally and professionally. While the Canada of today is far more enlightened than it was during my formative years, there is still much work to be done in making the mathematical sciences more open and welcoming to all. We must remain vigilant and safeguard the advances we have made for future generations of students, researchers, and academics.

BIOGRAPHY

Ryan Gibara is a postdoctoral fellow at Université Laval, having obtained his Ph.D. from Concordia University in 2020. His research is in mathematical analysis, especially harmonic analysis, functional analysis, and analysis on metric measure spaces.

BIOGRAPHY

Matilde Lalin received her PhD in 2005 from the University of Texas at Austin, where she was Harrington Fellow. She was a member at the Institute for Advanced Study, a Clay Liftoff Fellow, a PIMS postdoctoral fellow at the University of British Columbia and an Assistant Professor at the University of Alberta before joining the University of Montreal where she is now a full professor. In addition, she has held visiting positions at the Mathematical Sciences Research Institute, the Institut des hautes études scientifiques and the Max Planck Institute for Mathematics.
Since 2018 she has been a member of the local Centre de recherches mathématiques (CRM) scientific committee. She served on the Scientific Advisory Board and on the Program Committee of the Banff International Research Station for Mathematical Innovation and Discovery from 2015 to 2017 and has served on its Board of Directors since 2019. She was a member of the NSERC Discovery Grant Mathematics and Statistics Evaluation Group from 2017 to 2020 and the chair for its Pure Mathematics stream in 2019-20. In 2019 she was elected Vice-President (Quebec) of the Canadian Mathematical Society (CMS). She has served on committees or collaborated with the Association for Women in Mathematics, the Committee for Women in Mathematics from the International Mathematical Union, and the Women in Mathematics and the Reconciliation in Mathematics Committees of the CMS. She is a member of the steering committee for "Women in Numbers", a community that promotes the participation of women in number theory research mainly by organizing collaborative workshops.
Her research interests lie in number theory and related fields, and they include Mahler's measure, special values of L functions, arithmetic statistics on fields of functions and elliptic surfaces. She has written over 45 articles on these topics.

Matilde Lalin's EDI statement

I believe everybody can do mathematics but not everyone has the same opportunities to develop their mathematical skills. I also believe that diversity is essential for mathematical progress. Mathematics is not a neutral field: people bring their own identity when they do and create mathematics. It is therefore critical to provide access to research in mathematics to all, especially those who have not been historically represented in the field.

Responsive image

COMITÉ ÉDI-CRM

BIOGRAPHIE

Véronique Hussin est professeur titulaire du département de mathématiques et de statistique de l'Université de Montréal. De 2005 à 2009 et de 2010 à 2012, elle dirige ce même département. En 2012, elle prend la direction du Service d'appui à la formation interdisciplinaire et à la réussite étudiante (SAFIRE) de la Faculté des Arts et des Sciences (FAS). Ce service s'occupe de la gestion de plusieurs programmes facultaires, vient en soutien aux unités de la FAS, en terme de gestion des études, travaille à développer des stratégies et des actions afin de faciliter la réussite étudiante.
Détentrice d'un doctorat de l'Université de Liège (Belgique), son domaine de recherche est la physique mathématique. Ses travaux de recherche portent sur l'étude des propriétés mathématiques et physiques de systèmes intégrables et résolubles tant en mécanique quantique qu'en mécanique classique.

BIOGRAPHY

Rosalie Bélanger-Rioux est maître d'enseignement au Département de mathématiques et de statistique de l'Université McGill. Elle y enseigne, et participe à divers efforts pour mieux soutenir les étudiant-es: vie étudiante, diversité et inclusion, pédagogie, etc.
Avant cela, Rosalie était dans un poste similaire à l'Université Harvard aux États-Unis. Elle a reçu son baccalauréat en mathématiques appliquées de l'Université McGill, et son doctorat en mathématiques appliquées du Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

BIOGRAPHIE

Broderick est un doctorant en analyse asymptotique et en géométrie spectrale à l'université de McGill. Il a complété sa maîtrise à l'École Supérieure de l'Économie à Moscou et son baccalauréat à l'université d'Algoma à Sault Ste. Marie. Broderick est passionné par la narration, l'enseignement, et notamment par le tissage.

Déclaration ÉDI de Broderick Causley

Lorsqu'on demande à un enfant de décrire à quoi ressemble un mathématicien, sur quoi base-t-il sa réponse? En quoi sa vision se reflète-t-elle, de nos jours, dans la communauté mathématique? Les enjeux d'équité, de diversité et d'inclusion (EDI), qu'ils soient visibles ou invisibles, bénéficient souvent du recul que l'on prend pour réfléchir. Je suis heureux d'être sur le comité d'EDI du CRM et j'ai hâte de voir ce que nous pourrons accomplir ensemble.

BIOGRAPHIE

Je suis professeur titulaire au Département de mathématiques et de statistique de l'Université McGill. Je me considère comme un mathématicien appliqué et, de manière générale, mes recherches portent sur l'étude et l'application de problèmes variationnels. Je suis né dans la communauté parsi en Inde. Ma famille et moi avons émigré au Canada quand j'avais deux ans. En grandissant, j'ai découvert que mon orientation sexuelle et mon apparence étaient parfois en contradiction avec la société dans laquelle j'ai grandi. J'ai vécu les difficultés et l'isolement ressentis par de nombreuses minorités au Canada, tant sur le plan personnel que professionnel. Bien que le Canada d'aujourd'hui soit un meilleur milieu de vie qu'il ne l'était pendant mes années de formation, il reste encore beaucoup à faire pour rendre les sciences mathématiques plus ouvertes et plus accueillantes pour tous. Nous devons rester vigilants et protéger les progrès que nous avons réalisés pour les générations futures d'étudiants, de chercheurs et d'universitaires.

BIOGRAPHIE

Ryan Gibara est un stagiaire postdoctoral à l'Université Laval, ayant obtenu son doctorat à l'Université Concordia en 2020. Ses travaux de recherche portent sur l'analyse mathématique, surtout l'analyse harmonique, l'analyse fonctionnelle et l'analyse dans les espaces métriques mesurés.

BIOGRAPHIE

Matilde Lalin a obtenu son doctorat en 2005 à University of Texas à Austin, où elle était Harrington Fellow. Elle a été membre de l'Institute for Advanced Study, Clay Liftoff Fellow, stagiaire postdoctorale PIMS à l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique et professeure adjointe à l'Université de l'Alberta avant de rejoindre l'Université de Montréal où elle est maintenant professeure titulaire. En outre, elle a été chercheure invitée au Mathematical Sciences Research Institute, à l'Institut des hautes études scientifiques et au Max Planck Institute for Mathematics.
Depuis 2018, elle est membre du comité scientifique local du Centre de recherches mathématiques (CRM). Elle a siégé au Conseil consultatif scientifique et au Comité des programmes de la Banff International Research Station for Mathematical Innovation and Discovery de 2015 à 2017 et elle fait partie de son Conseil d'administration depuis 2019. Elle a été membre du Groupe d'évaluation des mathématiques et des statistiques des subventions à la découverte du CRSNG de 2017 à 2020 et la présidente du volet Mathématiques pures en 2019-20. En 2019 elle a été élue vice-présidente (Québec) de la Société mathématique du Canada (SMC). Elle a été membre de comités ou bien elle a collaboré avec l'Association for Women in Mathematics, le Comité des femmes en mathématiques de l'Union mathématique internationale et les comités des femmes en mathématiques et de réconciliation en mathématique de la SMC. Elle est membre du comité consultatif de «Women in Numbers», une communauté qui favorise la participation des femmes à la recherche en théorie des nombres principalement en organisant des ateliers collaboratifs.
Ses intérêts de recherche se situent dans la théorie des nombres et les domaines connexes et ils comprennent la mesure de Mahler, les valeurs spéciales des fonctions L, la statistique arithmétique sur les corps de fonctions et les surfaces elliptiques. Elle a écrit plus de 45 articles sur ces sujets.

Énoncé ÉDI de Matilde Lalin

Je crois que tout le monde peut faire des mathématiques, mais tout le monde n'a pas les mêmes opportunités de développer ces compétences. Je crois aussi que la diversité est essentielle pour le progrès des mathématiques. Ce domaine n'est pas neutre, les mathématicien.ne.s apportent chacun leur identité quand ils développent la matière. Il est donc essentiel de donner des opportunités permettant l'accès à la recherche en mathématiques aux divers groupes de personnes, surtout ceux qui n'ont pas été représentés historiquement dans le domaine.