Responsive image

NEWS AT THE EDI

Spectra LGBTQ+ in Mathematics Conference
The first Spectra Conference will be hosted virtually by the Institute for Computation and Experimental Research in Mathematics (ICERM) on August 18th-20th, 2021. The goal of this conference is to create a meeting for LGBTQ+ mathematicians where all branches of the mathematics community (applied, theoretical, and education) are represented and to create a space for LGBTQ+ mathematicians both to celebrate achievements and to spark conversations of challenges in our community. The conference will feature three plenary speakers, as well as contributed sessions of short research talks and lightning talks. Additionally, we plan to have social hours via Gather.Town and a panel to discuss the past, present and future of the LGBTQ+ math community.
For more information

Narrowing the Gap: Addressing Mathematical Inequity in Indigenous Education, Monday, June 21, 2021
Celebrating National Indigenous Peoples Day, a day to honour Indigenous Peoples presence and history, with speaker Melania Alvarez (Pacific Institute for the Mathematical Sciences) on the activities that UBC and SFU do with indigenous groups and discussing her work on mathematical education for First Nations communities in BC.
June 21, 2021, at 4:00 p.m. (Eastern time) online
Free but registration mandatory here
For more information

Connecting Women in Mathematics Across Canada Workshop (CWiMAC)
The 2021 Connecting Women in Mathematics Across Canada (CWiMAC) workshop will be held online on Wednesday, June 2 and Thursday, June 3, 2021, preceding the 75th+1 Anniversary Meeting of the Canadian Mathematical Society.
CWiMAC workshops are organized in coordination with the CMS Women in Mathematics Committee. The purpose of the workshop is to support the career development of junior female-identified academics in the Canadian mathematics community. The 2021 CWiMAC workshop will include invited presentations, panels, and networking events aimed at advancing the careers of junior participants. There will also be a session of contributed talks by students and post-doctoral fellows.
June 2-3, 2021 : Online

Celebrating Women in Mathematics in 2021: May 12, 2021 at 11:00 (EDT: UTC-4)
Online screening of the film: Words of Women in Mathematics in the Time of Corona starting May 12 here.
To register to the online Zoom panel discussion of the International Centre for Mathematical Sciences (ICMS), you must register via Eventbrite.

CMS Equity Forum
The Equity, Diversity, and Inclusiveness committee of the CMS is organizing a scientific session Equity Forum at the CMS Summer meeting, and they are looking for speakers! If you are interested in speaking, or have any questions, please send an abstract by email to kalashnikov@math.harvard.edu by April 23, 2021. The CMS summer meeting will be held online, June 7-11, 2021. They anticipate talks for this session will be held between June 8-10. The goal of this Equity Forum is to provide a venue for discussion and lectures on EDI issues in mathematics. They hope to have talks which discuss the issues faced by underrepresented members of our community, as well as talks showcasing successful efforts by individuals, research groups, and/or departments to combat bias and broaden participation in mathematics. They are looking for speakers to give 40 minute talks at the summer meeting. They particularly welcome talks on the following topics: LGBT inclusion, equity in mentoring, racism in mathematics, mental health, gender diversity in mathematics, balancing caregiving and mathematics.

How Mentorship Could Help Fight Underrepresentation in STEM
The Canadian Mathematical Society invites Dr. Lassina Dembele, an Ivorian-Canadian mathematician, to speak on the importance of mentorship. His area of expertise in number theory, and he currently works at the Department of Mathematics of the University of Luxembourg.
April 15, 2021
2:30 PM - 4:30 PM EDT

EDI in Academic Research & Grant Applications, English Workshop on April 22, 2021
The RIQEDI and l’Institut EDI, in collaboration with the Chaire pour les femmes en sciences et en génie and the Granting Agencies, invite you to the workshop on equity, diversity and inclusion (EDI) in Academic Research and Grant Applications.

L’Oréal Canada For Women in Science Research Excellence Fellowships
Deadline: April 14, 2021

Creation of the Ravy Por scholarship, March 8, 2021
To recognize and promote the talent of women, from diverse backgrounds, in mathematics and statistics.

Since March 1, 2021, INRS support for parental leave
Since March 1, 2021, all students and research staff of the INRS have access to financial support during their parental leave.

Responsive image

ACTUALITÉS EDI

Conférence Spectra LGBTQ+ en mathématiques
La première conférence Spectra sera organisée virtuellement par l'Institute for Computation and Experimental Research in Mathematics’’(ICERM) du 18 au 20 août 2021. L'objectif de cette conférence est de créer une réunion pour les mathématiciens LGBTQ+ où toutes les branches de la communauté mathématique (appliquée, théorique et éducative) sont représentées et pour créer un espace pour les mathématiciens LGBTQ+ à la fois pour célébrer les réalisations et pour susciter des conversations sur les défis de notre communauté. La conférence comprendra trois conférenciers pléniers, ainsi que des sessions contributives de courts exposés sur la recherche et des exposés éclair. De plus, nous prévoyons organiser des heures sociales via Gather.Town et un panel pour discuter du passé, du présent et de l'avenir de la communauté mathématique LGBTQ+.
En savoir plus

Réduire l'écart: lutter contre les inégalités mathématiques dans l'éducation autochtone, lundi 21 juin 2021
Nous célébrons la Journée nationale des peuples autochtones, une journée pour honorer la présence et l'histoire des peuples autochtones, avec la conférencière Melania Alvarez (Pacific Institute for the Mathematical Sciences) au sujet des activités de l'Université de la Colombie-britannique et de Simon Fraser University avec les groupes autochtones et discussions autour de son travail sur l'éducation mathématique pour les communautés des Premières Nations de la Colombie-Britannique.
Cette conférence sera prononcée en anglais.
21 juin 2021 à 16 h 00 (Heure de l'Est) en ligne
Gratuit mais inscription obligatoire ici
En savoir plus

Atelier « Femmes en mathématiques à travers le Canada »
L'atelier « Femmes en mathématiques au Canada 2021 » se tiendra en ligne le mercredi 2 juin et le jeudi 3 juin 2021, avant la réunion du 75e + 1 anniversaire de la Société mathématique du Canada.
Ces ateliers du Connecting Women in Mathematics Across Canada (CWiMAC) sont organisés en coordination avec le Comité des femmes en mathématiques de la SMC. Le but de l'atelier est de soutenir le développement de carrière des jeunes universitaires identifiées comme des femmes dans la communauté mathématique canadienne. L'atelier CWiMAC 2021 comprendra des présentations invitées, des tables rondes et des évènements de réseautage visant à faire progresser la carrière des jeunes participantes. Il y aura également une session de présentations par des étudiantes et des chercheuses postdoctorales.
2 et 3 juin 2021 : En ligne

Célébration de la journée des femmes en math: 12 mai 2021 à 11h (heure de l'EST: UTC-4)
Visionnement en ligne du film: Words of Women in Mathematics in the Time of Corona à partir du 12 mai ici.
Pour s'inscrire au panel de discussion sur Zoom de l'International Centre for Mathematical Sciences (ICMS), vous devez vous inscrire via Eventbrite.

Forum d'équité de la SMC
Le Comité d’équité, de diversité et d’inclusion de la SMC organise une séance scientifique intitulée «Forum équité» dans le cadre de la Réunion d’été de la SMC et ils sollicitent des conférenciers.cières. Si vous souhaitez présenter une conférence, veuillez envoyer votre résumé à kalashnikov@math.harvard.edu d’ici le 23 avril 2021. La Réunion d’été de la SMC aura lieu en ligne du 7 au 11 juin 2021. Les conférences de la séance d’ÉDI sont prévues pour les 8-10 juin. L’objectif du Forum d’équité est d’offrir un lieu de discussions et de conférences sur les sujets relatifs à l’ÉDI en mathématiques. Ils cherchent surtout des conférencier.cières qui abordent les difficultés que vivent les membres sous-représenté.e.s de notre communauté ou qui soulignent des efforts réussis des individus, des groupes de recherches et des départements contre les préjudices et en vue d’élargir la participation en mathématiques. Les conférences seront d’une durée de 40 minutes et des sujets possibles sont : inclusion des personnes LGBTQ, équité en mentorat, racisme en mathématiques, santé mentale, diversité de genres en mathématiques, équilibre entre prestation de soins et mathématiques.

Comment le mentorat pourrait aider à lutter contre la sous-représentation dans les STEM
La Société mathématique du Canada invite Dr Lassina Dembele, mathématicien ivoiro-canadien, a parler de l’importance du mentorat. Son domaine d'expertise est en théorie des nombres et il travaille actuellement au Département de mathématiques de l'Université du Luxembourg.
15 avril 2021, 14h30 - 16h30

L’ÉDI dans la recherche universitaire et les demandes de subvention, Atelier du 15 avril 2021 en français
Le RIQEDI et l’Institut EDI2, en collaboration avec la Chaire pour les femmes en sciences et en génie et les organismes subventionnaires, vous invitent à l'atelier portant sur l'Équité, la diversité et l'inclusion (ÉDI) dans la recherche universitaire et dans les demandes de subventions.

Bourse d’excellence L’Oréal Canada pour les femmes et la science
Date limite: 14 avril 2021

Création de la bourse Ravy Por, 8 mars 2021
Pour reconnaître et valoriser le talent des femmes, issues de la diversité, en mathématiques et statistique.

Depuis le 1er mars 2021, soutien de l’INRS aux congés parentaux
Depuis le 1er mars 2021, toutes les étudiantes, les étudiants et le personnel de recherche de l’Institut national de la recherche scientifique (INRS) ont accès à du soutien financier pendant leur congé parental.