CRM-Fields-PIMS Prize


Call for nominations

Terms of reference

CRM-Fields Recipients from 1994 to 2005

CRM-Fields-PIMS Prize

The CRM-Fields-PIMS prize is intended to be the premier mathematics prize in Canada. The winner receives a monetary award, and an invitation to present a lecture at each institute during the semester when the award is announced. The prize recognizes exceptional achievement in the mathematical sciences. It was established by the Centre de recherches mathematiques and the Fields Institute as the CRM-Fields prize in 1994. In 2005, PIMS became an equal partner. The name changed to the CRM-Fields-PIMS prize, the award level increased, and the terms of reference were revised. The winner is selected by a committee appointed by the three institutes.

The winner's research should have been conducted primarily in Canada or in affiliation with a Canadian university. The main selection criterion is outstanding contribution to the advancement of research. The nomination proposals deadline is October 1 each year.

2006 CRM-Fields-PIMS Prize

The Centre de recherches mathématiques (CRM), the Fields Institute, and the Pacific Institute for the Mathematical Sciences (PIMS) invite nominations for the joint CRM-Fields-PIMS prize, in recognition of exceptional research achievement in the mathematical sciences. The candidate's research should have been conducted primarily in Canada or in affiliation with a Canadian university.

The prize was established as the CRM-Fields prize in 1994. Renamed in 2005, the 2006 and later prizes will be awarded jointly by all three institutes. Previous recipients are H.S.M. Coxeter, George A. Elliott, James Arthur, Robert Moody, Stephen A. Cook, Israel Michael Sigal, William T. Tutte, John Friedlander, John McKay, Edwin Perkins, Donald Dawson, and David Boyd.

The selection committee formed by the three institutes will select a recipient for the 2006 prize on the basis of outstanding contributions to the advancement of the mathematical sciences, with excellence in research as the main selection criterion.

A monetary prize will be awarded and the recipient will be asked to present a lecture at each of CRM, the Fields Institute, and PIMS.

Nominations should be submitted by October 1, 2005 by at least two sponsors of recognized stature, and should include the following elements: two supporting letters, curriculum vitae, list of publications, and up to four preprints. During any academic year, at most one prize will be awarded.

Submit nominations to:

Directeur, Centre de recherches mathématiques
Universite de Montreal
C.P. 6128, Succ. centre-ville
Montreal (Quebec) CANADA H3C 3J7

CRM-Fields Prize

Recipients CRM-FIELDS


February 28, 2005