logo Web


logo Web

Events at the CRM

PDF version

André Aisenstadt Prize 2006 - Tai-Peng Tsai

CRM > Prizes > André Aisenstadt Prize > Recipients > Tai-Peng Tsai
André Aisenstadt Prize 2006 - Tai-Peng Tsai [ français ]

Information on the conference

The conference in pictures

The 2006 André Aisenstadt Prize is awarded jointly to Iosif Polterovich of the University of Montreal, and Tai-Peng Tsai of the University of British Columbia.

After completing his B.Sc. at the National Taiwan University in 1991, Dr. Tsai obtained his Ph.D. from the University of Minnesota in 1998 under the supervision of Vladimir Sverak. Following a three year postdoc at the Courant Institute, and a further year at the Institute for Advanced Study, Dr. Tsai began as an assistant professor at UBC in 2002.

Dr. Tsai is an outstanding researcher in non-linear partial differential equations. In recent work with Kang and Gustafson, Tsai obtained the optimal partial regularity result for the incompressible Navier-Stokes equation. Even more remarkably he proved the non-existence of self-similar blow-up solutions (as proposed by Leray in 1934) with finite local energy in three dimensions. Tsai has also embarked on a deep and detailed study of long-time asymptotics in nonlinear Schrödinger equations with several coauthors. These papers reveal a variety and subtlety of behaviours, and are becoming quite influential.

Update - 05/27/14, 15:58:52 webmaster@CRM.UMontreal.CA
Prix - Menu
The CRM created and administers, either alone or jointly, four of the eight major national prizes in the mathematical sciences, namely:  the CRM–Fields–PIMS Prize,  the Prize for Theoretical Physics awarded in collaboration with the Canadian Association of Physicists (CAP), the Prize for young researchers in Statistics awarded jointly with the Statistical Society of Canada (SSC), and the CRM Aisenstadt Prize awarded to rising young Canadian stars, selected by CRM's Scientific Advisory Panel. The CRM has invested enormously in time, effort and in its own resources, to propel leading Canadian scientists into the spotlight, giving them international recognition when they most need it. 

CRM–Fields–PIMS Prize