logo Web



Les activités du CRM
Toutes les activités scientifiques

Téléchargement en PDF

2021 CAP-CRM Prize Recipient

CRM > Prizes > CAP-CRM Prize > Recipients >Robert Raussendorf

2021 CAP-CRM Prize winner
Robert Raussendorf (University of British Columbia)
[français ]

Professor Raussendorf will give an online talk on April 8, 2022 at 3:30 p.m.

To receive the Zoom link

Title: Hidden Variable Model for Universal Quantum Computation with Magic States on Qubits

Abstract: We show that every quantum computation can be described by a probabilistic update of a probability distribution on a finite phase space. Negativity in a quasiprobability function is not required in states or operations, which is a very unusual feature. Nonetheless, our result is consistent with Gleason’s Theorem and the Pusey-Barrett- Rudolph theorem.

The reason I have chosen this subject for my talk is two-fold: (i) It gives the audience a glimpse of the quest to understand the quantum mechanical cause for speed-up in quantum computation, which is one of the central questions on the theory side of the field, and (ii) Maybe there can be feedback from the audience. The structures underlying the above probabilistic model are the so-called Lambda-polytopes, which are highly symmetric objects. At present we only know very few general facts about them. Help with analysing them would be appreciated!

Joint work with Michael Zurel and Cihan Okay,
Journal reference: Phys. Rev. Lett. 125, 260404 (2020)

It is a thrill and an honour to be recognized for my work by CAP-CRM, and to join through this distinction such accomplished scientists.

The Centre de recherches mathématiques (CRM) and the Canadian Association of Physicists (CAP) are pleased to announce that the 2021 CAP-CRM Prize in Theoretical and Mathematical Physics is awarded to Robert Raussendorf, University of British Columbia, to recognize his eminent contributions to the theory of quantum computing, including groundbreaking work on measurement-based or "one way" quantum computing, fault-tolerant quantum computing, and computationally universal quantum phases of matter.

Prof. Raussendorf has made multiple fundamental contributions to the theory of quantum computation. He proposed a new technique, the "one-way" or measurement-based quantum computer, which is considered one of the few viable paths for physical quantum computers. He developed a scheme for fault-tolerant quantum computing, and identified a computationally universal phase of quantum matter.

The objective of this award is to recognize research excellence in the fields of theoretical and mathematical physics. The annual CAP-CRM Prize in Theoretical and Mathematical Physics was first introduced in 1995, on the occasion of the 60th anniversary of the CAP.

ABOUT the Canadian Association of Physicists (CAP)

The Canadian Association of Physicists, founded in 1945, is a professional association representing over 1600 individual physicists and physics students in Canada, the U.S. and overseas, as well as a number of Corporate, Institutional, and Departmental Members. In addition to its learned activities, the CAP, through its charitable arm - the CAP Foundation, also undertakes a number of activities intended to encourage students to pursue a career in physics.

ABOUT the Centre de recherches mathématiques (CRM)

The Centre de recherches mathématiques (CRM), based in Montreal, is an internationally recognized institute for research in the mathematical sciences. The CRM has research groups in 13 areas that bring together hundreds of researchers. Every year, thousands of researchers from around the world visit the CRM to participate in its thematic programmes and other research, education, outreach, innovation and knowledge transfer activities.

E-mail: cap@uottawa.ca

Centre de recherches mathématiques
Tel: 514-343-7501
Fax: 514-343-2254

Prix - Menu
The CRM created and administers, either alone or jointly, four of the eight major national prizes in the mathematical sciences, namely:  the CRM–Fields–PIMS Prize,  the Prize for Theoretical Physics awarded in collaboration with the Canadian Association of Physicists (CAP), the Prize for young researchers in Statistics awarded jointly with the Statistical Society of Canada (SSC), and the CRM Aisenstadt Prize awarded to rising young Canadian stars, selected by CRM's Scientific Advisory Panel. The CRM has invested enormously in time, effort and in its own resources, to propel leading Canadian scientists into the spotlight, giving them international recognition when they most need it. 

CRM–Fields–PIMS Prize