logo Web


logo Web

Events at the CRM

PDF version

2009 CAP_CRM Prize Recipient

CRM > Prizes > CAP-CRM Prize > Recipients > Hong Guo
2009 CAP-CRM
Hong Guo (McGill) [ français ]

Conference details

The Canadian Association of Physicists (CAP) and the le Centre de recherches mathématiques (CRM) are pleased to announce that the 2009 CAP-CRM Prize in Theoretical and Mathematical Physics is awarded to Hong Guo, McGill University, for his pioneering work on the ab initio theory of transport in nanoscale systems, including the theory of circuits in which current flows through molecules.

Hong Guo produced many original works covering a wide-range of topics in quantum transport theory, non-equilibrium Green’s function formalism, electron scattering theory in semiconductor nanostructures, time-dependent and high frequency quantum transport theory, strongly correlated phenomena in quantum dots, new nano-scale quantum device concepts and operation principles, and application of density functional theory atomistic techniques to understand charge/spin transport. Hong Guo has developed new theoretical formalism and associated modeling tools that involves a close coupling of quantum physics, non-equilibrium statistical physics, materials physics and atomistic first principles methods, for investigating nano-electronic devices.

Hong Guo has solved the crucial theoretical problem of quantitative prediction of non-equilibrium quantum transport in atomic/molecular scale devices, by developing an entirely new electronic structure theory which goes beyond the equilibrium closed/isolated or periodic systems conventionally seen in quantum chemistry and solid state physics. Guo’s work represents a qualitative advance of quantum transport as well as electronic structure theory that has become the state-of-the-art in nanoelectronic device theory now used by a wide range of researchers including industrial device researchers. Guo has also contributed extensively on other important issues of quantum transport. Very notable was his work on solving the alternating current partition problem using the non-equilibrium Green's function approach. His work provided very important insight concerning high frequency quantum transport in nano-scale systems, nonlinear quantum capacitance, operational speed of nano-scale devices, and quantum RLC circuits. He has built a unique research program in Canada with top international reputation. The impact of his work is international with not only scientific value but also direct relevance to practical application.

In 1995, the Centre de recherches mathématiques (CRM) and the Canadian Association of Physicists (CAP) created, on the occasion of the 50th anniversary of the CAP, a joint annual prize in recognition of exceptional achievements in theoretical and mathematical physics. The objective of this award is to recognize research excellence in the fields of theoretical and mathematical physics. The award is not limited to CAP members but the candidates' research should have been done in Canada or in affiliation with a Canadian organization.

Hong Guo will receive the 2009 CAP-CRM Prize in Theoretical and Mathematical Physics during the CAP's awards banquet to be held at the Université de Moncton in Moncton, New Brunswick, on June 9th, 2009.

The Canadian Association of Physicists, founded in 1945, is a professional association representing over 1600 individual physicists and physics students in Canada, the U.S. and overseas, as well as a number of Corporate, Institutional, and Departmental Members. In addition to its learned activities, the CAP also undertakes a number of activities intended to encourage students to pursue a career in physics.

The Centre de recherches mathématiques is a national research centre in mathematics and theoretical physics jointly supported by the federal government, the province of Quebec, and the Quebec universities. The CRM is based at the Université de Montréal. Among the activities of the CRM are thematic years, summer schools, workshops, seminars, and the publication of monographs, proceedings, and lecture notes in mathematics and physics. The local community of Quebec researchers is grouped in CRM's ten research laboratories.

For more information, please contact:

Canadian Association of Physicists
Tel: (613) 562-5614
Fax: (613) 562-5615
E-mail: cap@uottawa.ca


Centre de recherches mathématiques
Tel: 514-343-7501
Fax: 514-343-2254

Prix - Menu
The CRM created and administers, either alone or jointly, four of the eight major national prizes in the mathematical sciences, namely:  the CRM–Fields–PIMS Prize,  the Prize for Theoretical Physics awarded in collaboration with the Canadian Association of Physicists (CAP), the Prize for young researchers in Statistics awarded jointly with the Statistical Society of Canada (SSC), and the CRM Aisenstadt Prize awarded to rising young Canadian stars, selected by CRM's Scientific Advisory Panel. The CRM has invested enormously in time, effort and in its own resources, to propel leading Canadian scientists into the spotlight, giving them international recognition when they most need it. 

CRM–Fields–PIMS Prize