logo Web


logo Web

Events at the CRM

PDF version

2008 CAP_CRM Prize Recipient

CRM > Prizes > CAP-CRM Prize > Recipients > Richard Cleve
2008 CAP-CRM
Richard Cleve (Waterloo) [ français ]

Conference details February 27, 2009

Conference Slideshow

"It is a great honour to receive this award, which implicitly recognizes the work of many physicists and computer scientists, in an area where there is a rich interplay between these disciplines."

The Canadian Association of Physicists (CAP) is pleased to announce that the 2008 CAP/CRM Prize in Theoretical Physics is being awarded to Dr. Richard Cleve, University of Waterloo, for fundamental results in quantum information theory, including the structure of quantum algorithms and the foundations of quantum communication complexity.

Professor Richard Cleve is an outstanding computer scientist who has worked at the boundary of physics, mathematics and computer science. His work has transcended the area of computer science to have a broad impact on the physics of quantum information.

Richard Cleve has made seminal contributions to quantum information science. He has shown how generic quantum algorithms can be broken into the fundamental physical building blocks, the so called one and two qubits gates. Today most physical implementation of quantum computers use this result. He has also created the field of quantum communication complexity, the one that assesses the resources required to perform tasks using quantum systems. He has demonstrated how a quantum version of quantum walks gives an exponential algorithmic speed up compared to its classical counterpart. He has also been involved in the firstexperiment on order-finding on a quantum computer prototype. The high quality of work and his ability to create a new field has put him at the very top of researchers world wide. His highly cited publications make him one of the most highly cited authors in the field of quantum information.

Besides being a first class researcher, Richard Cleve has been instrumental in building quantum information processing in Canada. He founded and was the impetus behind the quantum group at the University of Calgary before he moved to the Institute for Quantum Computing at the University of Waterloo. He has been a magnet to attract and retain outstanding scientists in Canada.

Richard Cleve is the Quantum Information Chair at the Institute for Quantum Computing, research associate at the Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics, a founding fellow of the Quantum Information Processing program at the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research, and Team Leader at QuantumWorks, a NSERC innovation platform bringing together academia, government and industry to dvelop quantum information processing in Canada.

The annual CAP-CRM Prize in Theoretical and Mathematical Physics was first introduced in 1995. Dr. Cleve will receive the 2008 Prize during the CAP's awards banquet to be held at Laval University on June 10th, 2008.

The Canadian Association of Physicists, founded in 1945, is a professional association representing over 1600 individual physicists and physics students in Canada, the U.S. and overseas, as well as a number of Corporate and Departmental Members. In addition to its learned activities, the CAP also undertakes a number of activities intended to encourage students to pursue a career in physics.

The Centre de recherches mathématiques is a national research centre in mathematics and theoretical physics jointly supported by the federal government, the province of Quebec, and the Université de Montréal where it is based. Among the activities of the CRM are thematic years, summer schools, workshops, seminars, and the publication of monographs, proceedings, and lecture notes in mathematics and physics.

For more information, please contact:

Centre de recherche mathématiques
Tel: 514-343-7501
Fax: 514-343-2254


Canadian Association of Physicists
Tel: 613-562-5614
Fax: 613-562-5615
E-mail: cap@physics.uottawa.ca

Prix - Menu
The CRM created and administers, either alone or jointly, four of the eight major national prizes in the mathematical sciences, namely:  the CRM–Fields–PIMS Prize,  the Prize for Theoretical Physics awarded in collaboration with the Canadian Association of Physicists (CAP), the Prize for young researchers in Statistics awarded jointly with the Statistical Society of Canada (SSC), and the CRM Aisenstadt Prize awarded to rising young Canadian stars, selected by CRM's Scientific Advisory Panel. The CRM has invested enormously in time, effort and in its own resources, to propel leading Canadian scientists into the spotlight, giving them international recognition when they most need it. 

CRM–Fields–PIMS Prize