[Liste-CICMA] Fwd: Lectures by Prof. Iku Nakamura (Hokkaido University)

Eyal Goren, Prof. eyal.goren at mcgill.ca
Tue Apr 22 17:56:39 EDT 2014



From: "Eyal Goren, Prof." <eyal.goren at mcgill.ca<mailto:eyal.goren at mcgill.ca>>
Date: April 22, 2014 at 9:59:23 EDT
To: "Henri Darmon, Prof." <henri.darmon at mcgill.ca<mailto:henri.darmon at mcgill.ca>>, Dimitris Koukoulopoulos <koukoulo at dms.umontreal.ca<mailto:koukoulo at dms.umontreal.ca>>, Jacques Hurtubise <jacques.hurtubise at mcgill.ca<mailto:jacques.hurtubise at mcgill.ca>>, Lu Steven <lu.steven at uqam.ca<mailto:lu.steven at uqam.ca>>
Cc: Victoria de Quehen <dequehen at math.mcgill.ca<mailto:dequehen at math.mcgill.ca>>, Amy Cheung Wooding <acheung84 at gmail.com<mailto:acheung84 at gmail.com>>, Dylan Attwell-Duval <dylan.attwell-duval at mail.mcgill.ca<mailto:dylan.attwell-duval at mail.mcgill.ca>>, Luiz Takei <luiztakei at gmail.com<mailto:luiztakei at gmail.com>>, Mirza Bahare <bahar.mirza at gmail.com<mailto:bahar.mirza at gmail.com>>, Candelori Luca <candelor at gmail.com<mailto:candelor at gmail.com>>, "Bruno Joyal, Mr" <bruno.joyal at mail.mcgill.ca<mailto:bruno.joyal at mail.mcgill.ca>>, Clément Gomez <gomez.clement.x07 at gmail.com<mailto:gomez.clement.x07 at gmail.com>>, Iku Nakamura <nakamura at math.sci.hokudai.ac.jp<mailto:nakamura at math.sci.hokudai.ac.jp>>, Ugrad Mathstat <ugrad.mathstat at mcgill.ca<mailto:ugrad.mathstat at mcgill.ca>>, "Payman Kassaei, Prof." <payman.kassaei at mcgill.ca<mailto:payman.kassaei at mcgill.ca>>, Hershy Kisilevsky <kisilev at cuma1.mathstat.concordia.ca<mailto:kisilev at cuma1.mathstat.concordia.ca>>, David Chantal <cdavid at mathstat.concordia.ca<mailto:cdavid at mathstat.concordia.ca>>, Matilde Lalin <mlalin at dms.umontreal.ca<mailto:mlalin at dms.umontreal.ca>>, Adrian Iovita Adrian <iovita at mathstat.concordia.ca<mailto:iovita at mathstat.concordia.ca>>



Subject: Re: Lectures by Prof. Iku Nakamura (Hokkaido University)

I have now the lecture room information.
The lecture from 11 - 12 is in BURN 920
The lecture from 14 - 15 is in BURN 1205


On Apr 21, 2014, at 9:51 AM, Eyal Goren <eyal.goren at mcgill.ca<mailto:eyal.goren at mcgill.ca>> wrote:

(Dear Jacques, Henri, Dimitris, Steven, please forward to interested parties/appropriate mailing lists. Fernanda, please advertise on Bulletin board)


Prof. Iku Nakamura will deliver two lectures this Thursday on compactifications of the moduli space of abelian varieties.

11:00 - 12:00 Moduli of planar cubic curves - from Hesse to Mumford (Part I)
12:00 - 14:00 Lunch at the Korean Restaurant Atti
14:00 - 15:00 Moduli of planar cubic curves - from Hesse to Mumford (Part II)

ABSTRACT: This lecture series is mainly for graduate students and post-docs interested in understanding the methods and ideas of compactifying a moduli space, particularly for abelian varieties. Graduate students are particularly welcome to attend.
  What is the moduli space of abelian varieties and its compactification? In order to explain the issues involved, we discuss the case of planar cubic curves in detail. A basic idea for compactification is the GIT-stability of Mumford. Every GIT-stable cubic curve is isomorphic to a Hesse cubic curve.


The lectures will be based on a manuscript attached to this email. The lectures will be at McGill. The exact room will be announced later, once the offices are open again.

Professor Nakamura is visiting Montreal for 2 months and will have an office at McGill. He will give a lecture at the QVNTS a bit later.

— Eyal Goren.

<amsp3020703.pdf>

-------------- section suivante --------------
Une pi?ce jointe non texte a ?t? nettoy?e...
Nom: non disponible
Type: text/html
Taille: 6860 octets
Desc: non disponible
Url: http://www.crm.umontreal.ca/pipermail/liste-cicma/attachments/20140422/3e86d890/attachment.txt 
-------------- section suivante --------------
Une pi?ce jointe non texte a ?t? nettoy?e...
Nom: amsp3020703.pdf
Type: application/pdf
Taille: 256905 octets
Desc: amsp3020703.pdf
Url: http://www.crm.umontreal.ca/pipermail/liste-cicma/attachments/20140422/3e86d890/attachment-0001.pdf 
-------------- section suivante --------------
Une pi?ce jointe non texte a ?t? nettoy?e...
Nom: ATT00001.htm
Type: text/html
Taille: 168 octets
Desc: ATT00001.htm
Url: http://www.crm.umontreal.ca/pipermail/liste-cicma/attachments/20140422/3e86d890/attachment.txt 


More information about the Liste-cicma mailing list