

The 2014 André-Aisenstadt Mathematics Prize awarded to Sabin Cautis

MONTRÉAL, June 2014 /CRM/ - The International Scientific Advisory Committee of the Centre de recherches mathématiques is happy to announce that Sabin Cautis from the University of British Columbia is the 2014 André-Aisenstadt Prize recipient.

As an undergraduate student at the University of Waterloo, Dr. Cautis was a Putnam Fellow and a member of the winning team in the 1999 Putnam competition. After receiving a Bachelor of Mathematics degree in 2001, Sabin Cautis continued his education at Harvard University, where he obtained his Ph.D. in 2006 under the supervision of Joe Harris. Before joining the mathematics department at the UBC, Dr. Cautis was an assistant professor at the University of Southern California, and held postdoctoral positions at Columbia University, MSRI and Rice University. In 2011-2013, he was a recipient of the highly coveted Alfred P. Sloan Fellowship.

Sabin Cautis works at the crossroads of algebraic geometry, representation theory and low-dimensional topology. In his earlier work (joint with the 2011 Aisenstadt Prize recipient, Joel Kamnitzer), he developed a new approach to Khovanov's knot invariants, which uses algebraic geometry and is inspired by mirror symmetry. Dr. Cautis is a world leader in the area of categorification. His results are expected to have a lasting impact on the field and lead to important developments in low-dimensional topology, geometric Langlands program, and mathematical aspects of quantum physics. In particular, his recent work with Anthony Licata on categorification of Heisenberg algebras and vertex operators is a major step in the direction outlined by Igor Frenkel towards categorification of conformal field theory.

About the André-Aisenstadt Mathematics Prize

The Centre de recherches mathématiques (CRM) solicits nominations for the André Aisenstadt Mathematics Prize awarded to recognize talented young Canadian mathematicians. The André Aisenstadt Mathematics Prize, which recognizes outstanding research achievement by a young Canadian mathematician in pure or applied mathematics, consists of a \$3,000 award and a medal.

Since its creation in 1991, the André-Aisensadt Prize has been awarded to the following (the affiliations are the current ones at the time of the award): Niky Kamran (McGill), Ian Putnam (Victoria), Michael Ward (UBC), Nigel Higson (Penn State), Adrian S. Lewis (Waterloo), Lisa Jeffrey (McGill), Henri Darmon (McGill), Boris Khesin (Toronto), John Toth (McGill), Changfeng Gui (Connecticut), Eckhard Meinrenken (Toronto), Jinyi Chen (UBC), Alexander Brudnyi (Calgary), Vinayak Vatsal (UBC), Ravi Vakil (Stanford), Iosif Polterovich (Montréal), Tai-Peng Tsai (UBC), Gregory G. Smith (Queen's), Alexander E. Holroyd (UBC), Jozsef Solymosi (UBC), Jonathan Taylor (Montréal), Valentin Blomer (Toronto), Omer Angel (UBC), Joel Kamnitzer (Toronto), Marco Gualtieri (Toronto) and Young-Heon Kim (UBC).

Source: Centre de recherches mathématiques – 514-343-7501 www.crm.math.ca

