Workshop on Spectral Theory of Schrödinger Operators

July 26 - 30 2004

Centre de recherches mathématiques
Université de Montréal
Montréal, Qc Canada

Vojkan Jaksic (McGill University), Y. Last (Hebrew)


We wish to acknowledge The National Science Foundation (NSF) for their contribution (NSF grant DMS-0339017).

This workshop will focus on the spectral theory of random and quasiperiodic Schrödinger operators. In solid state physics random and almost periodic Schrödinger operators serve as models of disordered systems, such as alloys, glasses and amorphous materials. The disorder of the system is reflected by the dependence of the potential on some random parameters.

From a mathematical point of view, random Schrödinger operators show quite unusual spectral behavior. If the disorder is large enough then these operators have dense point spectrum with exponentially decaying eigenfunctions (Anderson localization). The appearance of dense point spectra is a reflection of the physical fact that the strongly disordered systems are bad conductors. It is believed that in the weak disorder regime and for dimensions larger then 2 these operators have some absolutely continuous spectrum which corresponds to non-zero conductivity of the weakly disordered systems. The mathematical proof of this expected spectral phase transition (Anderson delocalization) is a fundamental open problem in mathematical physics.

This workshop will bring together the world leaders in spectral theory of random and quasiperiodic Schrödinger operators. Its goal is to review the state of the art of the field and to map new directions of the research.

The program includes short courses to be given by M. Aizenman (Princeton), B. Simon (Caltech), and S. Jitomirskaya (Irvine).

The workshop is being held in conjunction with the following the workshop on Dynamics in Statistical Mechanics, and many participants will be attending both.

Invited Participants

M. Aizenman (Princeton), Y. Avron (Haifa), J.-M. Barbaroux (Marseille), J. Breuur (Jerusalem), O. Costin ( Rutgers), J.-M. Combes (Toulon), R. Del Rio (Mexico), A. Elgart (Stanford), A. Fedotov (St. Petersburg), A. Figotin (Irvine), R. Froese (UBC), F. Germinet (Paris), A. Gordon (N. Carolina), M. Goldstein (Toronto), P. Hislop (Kentucky), D. Hundertmark (Illinois), S. Jitomirskaya (Irvine), A. Joye (Grenoble), Y. Karpeshina (Alabama), R. Killip (UCLA), W. Kirsh (Ruhr), A. Kiselev (Wisconsin), A. Klein (Irvine), F. Klopp (Paris), A. Laptev (Stockholm), D. Lenz (Chemnitz), P. Muller (Goettinger), Y. Pinchover (Haifa), J. Puig (Barcelona), O. Safronov (Alabama), J. Schenker (ETH), B. Simon (Caltech), A. Sobolev (Sussex), P. Stollmann (Chemnitz), G. Stolz (Alabama), Y. Strauss (Jerusalem), S. Tcheremchantsev (Orleans), B. Vainberg (N. Carolina), A. Zlatos (Wisconsin).


July 8, 2004, webmaster@CRM.UMontreal.CA