logo Web



Events at the CRM

PDF version

CRM Nirenberg Lectures in Geometric Analysis
CRM > CRM Nirenberg Lectures in Geometric Analysis > Louis Nirenberg, 2015 Abel Prize Laureate
Louis Nirenberg, 2015 Abel Prize Laureate
[ Français ]

The CRM congratulates Louis Nirenberg, 2015 Abel Prize Laureate

On March 25, 2015, the Norwegian Academy of Sciences and Letters announced the awarding of the 2015 Abel Prize to Louis Nirenberg (Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University) and John F. Nash Jr. (Princeton University) “for striking and seminal contributions to the theory of nonlinear partial differential equations and its applications to geometric analysis.”

Professor Nirenberg learned that he was to receive the prize during his recent visit to the CRM, on the occasion of the 2nd annual CRM Nirenberg Lectures in Geometric Analysis, named in his honour.

Louis Nirenberg was born in 1925 in Hamilton, Ontario. After his family moved to Montréal, he attended Baron Byng High School, followed by McGill University, earning his B.Sc. there in 1945. In 1949 Louis Nirenberg received a Ph.D. from New York University, where he later became a professor at the Courant Institute. His fundamental contributions include the pioneering work on nonlinear PDE techniques in global differential geometry, the Gagliardo-Nirenberg inequalities in the theory of Sobolev spaces, the Agmon-Douglis-Nirenberg theory of elliptic boundary value problems, the John-Nirenberg space of functions of bounded mean oscillation (BMO), the Kohn–Nirenberg theory of pseudo-differential operators, and the Newlander-Nirenberg theorem in complex geometry. The research achievements of Louis Nirenberg were previously recognized by numerous prizes and awards, such as the National Medal of Science, the Chern Medal, the Crafoord Prize, the Steele Prize and the Jeffery-Williams Prize.