français >

Random Matrices, Related Topics and Applications

(Web site soon online)

August 25 - 30, 2008
Organizers: E. Basor (Cal Poly), M. Bertola (Concordia), B. Eynard (CEA Saclay), A. Its (Indiana, Purdue), K. McLaughlin (Arizona)

The mathematics that has been developed for Random Matrix Theory in the past two decades is astonishingly rich and includes variational techniques, inverse spectral approach to nonlinear integrable differential and difference systems, new asymptotic techniques, such as the nonlinear steepest descent method, free probability and large deviations methods. The results obtained have found new applications in a stunningly wide range of areas of both mathematics and theoretical physics such as, for example, approximation theory, orthogonal polynomials and their asymptotics, number theory, combinatorics, dynamical systems of integrable type, representation theory of finite and infinite groups, growth phenomena, quantum gravity, conformal field theory, supersymmetric Yang-Mills theory and string theory.

This workshop will focus on recent advances in the asymptotic spectral theory of random matrices, connections with (multi-)orthogonal polynomials, combinatorics and moduli space theory of Riemann surfaces, algebraic geometry, theory of isomonodromic deformations, number theory and Dyson processes.


Mark Adler (Brandeis University)
Gernot Akemann (Brunel University)
Iana Anguelova (Université de Montréal)
Jinho Baik (University of Michigan)
Ferenc Balogh (Concordia University)
Pavel Bleher (Indiana University - Purdue University Indianapolis)
Alexei Borodin (Caltech)
Anne Boutet de Monvel (Université Paris 7 - Denis Diderot)
Leonid Chekhov (Steklov Mathematical Institute)
Yang Chen (Imperial College London)
Tom Claeys
Percy Deift (Courant Institute of Math. Sciences, NYU)
Momar Dieng (The University of Arizona)
Jeffery DiFranco (Seattle University)
Maurice Duits (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven)
Ioana Dumitriu (University of Washington)
Nicholas Ercolani (Universit of Arizona)
Athanassios S. Fokas (University of Cambridge)
Peter J. Forrester (University of Melbourne)
Dmitri Gioev (University of Rochester)
Alice Guionnet (École Normale Supérieure de Lyon)
John Harnad (Université de Montréal)
Mourad Ismail (University of Central Florida)
Kurt Johansson (Royal Institute of Technology)
Andrei Kapaev (Russian Academy of Sciences)
Jonathan Keating (University of Bristol)
Yulia Klochko (Concordia University)
Alexey Kokotov (Concordia University)
Dmitry Korotkin (Concordia University)
Igor V. Krasovsky (Brunel University)
Thomas Kriecherbauer (Ruhr-Universität Bochum)
Arno Kuijlaars (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven)
Seung-Yeop Lee (Université de Montréal)
Peter Miller (University of Michigan)
Andrei Okounkov (Princeton University)
Aleksander Yu. Orlov (Institute for Oceanology)
Virgil Pierce (The Ohio State University)
Aleix Prats Ferrer (Université de Montréal)
Bélà Gabor Pusztai (Concordia University)
Yvan Saint-Aubin (Université de Montréal)
Gilles Schaefffer (Ecole Polytechnique)
Nina Snaith (University of Bristol)
Kim Splittorf (Niels Bohr Institute)
Razvan Teodorescu (Los Alamos National Laboratory)
Ehrhardt Torsten (UC Santa Cruz)
Craig A. Tracy (University of California Davis)
Pierre Van Moerbeke (Univ. Catholique de Louvain)
Maarten Vanlessen (Ruhr-universitat Bochum)
Harold Widom (University of California, Santa Cruz)
Paul Wiegmann (University of Chicago)
Roderick S.C. Wong (City University of Hong Kong)
Mo Man Yue (University Walk)
Anton Zabrodin (ITEP)
Paul Zinn-Justin (Université Paris-Sud)
Martin Zirnbauer (Universitat zu Koln)
Jean-Bernard Zuber (LPTHE Université Paris 6)