français >

Laplacian Growth and Related Topics

(Web site soon online)

August 18 - 23, 2008
Organizers: N. Makarov (Caltech), P. Wiegmann (Chicago)

This workshop is devoted to mathematical aspects of  Laplacian Growth.

A broad class of non-equilibrium growth processes have a common law: the normal velocity of the growing boundary of a region is proportional to the gradient of a harmonic field on the exterior. This type of growth (called Laplacian growth) is unstable for nearly all initial configurations. Instabilities develop into fractal singular patterns. Similar instabilities occur in the hydrodynamics of immiscible fluids.

In recent years it has been recognized that the theory of Laplacian growth is deeply related to a number of modern branches of mathematical physics and mathematics. Among these are fundamental aspects of complex analysis, deformations of Riemann surfaces, integrable systems and the theory of random matrices. Connections between the Laplacian growth problem and  Random Matrix Theory leads to new interrelations between probability theory, singularities in hydrodynamics and conformal analysis.


Artem Abanov (Texas A&M University)
Oded Agam (The Hebrew University of Jerusalem)
Iana Anguelova (Université de Montréal)
Ferenc Balogh (Concordia University)
Dmitri Beliaev (Princeton University)
Marco Bertola (Concordia University)
Eldad Bettelheim (The Hebrew University of Jerusalem)
Lennart Carleson ( KTH)
Darren Crowdy ( Imperial College London)
Pavel Etingof (M.I.T.)
Giovanni Felder (ETH Zentrum)
Ilya Gruzberg (University of Chicago)
Bjorn Gustafson (KTH)
Matthew Haisting ( Los Alamos National Laboratory)
John Harnad (Université de Montréal)
Haakan Hedenmalm (KTH)
Sam D. Howison (University of Oxford)
Dmitry Khavinson (University of South Florida)
Dmitry Korotkin (Concordia University)
Gregory Lawler (University of Chicago)
Seung-Yeop Lee (Université de Montréal)
Leonid Levitov (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
Kenneth McLaughlin (University of Arizona)
Mark Mineev-Weinstein (Center for Nonlinear Studies, Los Alamos National Laboratory)
Yuval Peres (UC Berkeley)
Aleix Prats Ferrer (Université de Montréal)
Itamar Procaccia (The Weizmann Institute of Science)
Bélà Gabor Pusztai (Concordia University)
Mihai Puttinar (University of California at Santa Barbara)
Steffen Rohde (University of Washington)
Yvan Saint-Aubin (Université de Montréal)
Makato Sakai (Tokyo Metropolitan University)
Kanehisa Takasaki (Kyoto University)
Takashi Takebe (Ochanomizu University)
Razvan Teodorescu (Los Alamos National Laboratory)
Alexander Varchenko (The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)
Alexander Vasil'iev (Universitetet i Bergen)
Anton Zabrodin (Institute of Biochemical Physics)
Michel Zinsmeister (Université d’Orléans)