Scope of the workshop

Registration and Accommodation
( Encrypted registration has been optimized for Internet Explorer and Netscape browsers only )

Schedule and abstracts

Confirmed participants

Panel discussion


Workshop on Group Theory
and Numerical Analysis

May 26 - 31, 2003

Centre de recherches mathématiques,
Université de Montréal
Montréal (Québec), Canada

P. Winternitz (Chair, CRM, Université de Montréal)
D. Gomez-Ullate (CRM)
A. Iserles (Cambridge University)
D. Levi (Università di Roma Tre)
P. J. Olver (University of Minnesota, Minneapolis)

R. Quispel (
Latrobe University, Melbourne)
P. Tempesta (CRM)


Scope of the workshop

The main objective is to bring together experts on applications of group theory to difference schemes with practitioners of numerical methods. We consider it extremely important to establish bridges between recent theoretical developments, mainly aimed at obtaining exact analytical solutions, and other developments concerning numerical algorithms. The results of the workshop, as presented in the talks and discussions should be summed up in a book which we hope will be a monograph and thus of permanent value.

The topics we plan to discuss include the following:

1. Lie group methods in numerics
2. Symmetry preserving discretization of differential equations.
3. Symmetries of discrete systems
4. Symbolic algebra calculations
5. Discrete differential forms
6. Infinite dimensional algebras of vector fields and groups of
integrators, dynamical systems
7. Symmetries and numerics of computer vision
8. Other related topics.

List of confirmed participants

Armen Atoyan (CRM), Carl Bender (University of St.Louis), Anthony Bloch (University of Michigan), Anne Bourlioux (CRM, Université de Montréal), Elena Celledoni (Center for Advanced Study, Norway), Edgardo S. Cheb-Terrab (Simon Fraser University & Maple Soft), Catherine Cyr-Gagnon (Unversité de Montréal), Peter A. Clarkson (University of Kent, UK), Vladimir Dorodnitsyn (Keldysh Institute of Applied Mathematics, Moscou), David Gomez-Ullate (CRM), Michel Grundland (UQTR & CRM), Willy A. Hereman (Colorado School of Mines), Véronique Hussin (CRM, Université de Montréal), Arieh Iserles (Cambridge University), Tomasz Kaczynski (Université de Sherbrooke), Niki Kamran (McGill), Roman Kozlov (University of Oslo), Decio Levi (Università di Roma Tre), Debra Lewis (University of California, Santa Cruz), Simon J. Malham (Heriot-Watt University, UK), Elizabeth L. Mansfield (Univ. of Kent at Canterbury), Ziad H. Musslimani (University of Colorado), Peter J. Olver (University of Minnesota), Brynjulf Owren (Center for Advanced Study, Norway), Jiri Patera (CRM, Université de Montréal), Alexei Penskoi (CRM), Reinout Quispel (Latrobe University, Melbourne), Greg Reid (University of Western Ontario), Nicolas Robidoux (Simon Fraser University), Vadim Shapiro (University of Wisconsin), Raymond Spiteri (Dalhousie University), Piergiulio Tempesta (CRM), Zora Thomova (SUNY, Utica), Alexander Turbiner (UNAM, Mexico), Jacek Tuszynski (University of Alberta), Pavel Winternitz (CRM, Université de Montréal), Kurt Bernardo Wolf (UNAM, Mexico), Ravil Yamilov (Russian Academy of Sciences), Wojtek J. Zakrzewski (University of Durham), Alexander Zhalij (CRM).

Links to further information

April 15, 2003, webmestre@CRM.UMontreal.CA