Overview

[ Franšais ]

Quantum symmetries: Tensor categories, Topological quantum field theories, Vertex algebras
October 10 - November 4, 2022

This concentration month is dedicated to applications of category theory to various flavors of quantum field theory.

For more information, including schedules, titles and abstracts, please click here

The mathematics of conformal field theory

The Lie algebra of conformal transformations in two dimensions is infinite-dimensional, which has remarkable consequences for 2D conformal field theories (Belavin, Polyakov, Zamolodchikov). Such theories are, in many cases, almost entirely determined by how the quantum fields transform under conformal transformations, that is with respect to the action of Virasoro algebra. More generally, the algebraic structure underlying conformal field theory is known as a vertex operator algebra. Well known examples include those corresponding to the Virasoro algebra, affine Kac–Moody algebras and W-algebras.

A significant part of conformal field theory is then the representation theory of vertex operator algebras and how their structures interplay with physical applications. Initially, researchers working in this area mostly focused on the so-called rational conformal field theories which are built from a finite semisimple category of modules over the vertex operator algebra. However, there are many physical applications that do not satisfy the requirements of rationality. Since the mid-90s, classes of non-rational theories have been explored, including the logarithmic conformal field theories on which the hamiltonian is not diagonalizable. This research is still very active in the mathematics and mathematical physics communities and will feature prominently in this concentration period.

Quantum symmetries and tensor categories

The significance of tensor categories in mathematical physics emerged in the late 80s, with Moore and Seiberg’s work on conformal field theory and the Verlinde formula, and the early 90s with Reshetikhin and Turaev’s combinatorial constructions of invariants of links and 3-manifolds. In this sense, tensor categories encode the symmetries of both conformal field theories and topological field theories. So, as groups encode classical symmetries, tensor categories provide a unifying language to encode the symmetries that arise in many quantum contexts, including those mentioned above.

The study of tensor categories, especially those relating to the above applications (fusion categories and modular tensor categories), has since become a hugely important field in its own right with connections to the Hopf algebra (and quantum groups) and subfactor communities. The relation of these categories to link and knot invariants, Temperley-Lieb-Jones theories and braid group representations makes them the essential mathematical tool to properly describe such physical applications as topological quantum computation and topological phases of matter.

These classes of tensor categories are finite and semisimple, hence they are relevant in the study of rational conformal field theories and semisimple topological field theories. An important question that is currently being actively pursued is to identify more general classes of categories whose structures will advance our understanding of the logarithmic and non-semisimple versions of these physical theories. By bringing together international experts from both communities, this concentration period will catalyze collaborations that aim to solve this important question. This progress is also expected to lead to new results for the original applications, for example non-semisimple categories also yield new and interesting invariants of links and 3-manifolds.

Survol

[ English ]

Symétries quantiques : catégories tensorielles, théories quantiques topologiques des champs, algèbres vertex
10 octobre-4 novembre 2022

Ce programme intensif est consacré aux applications de la théorie des catégories à diverses variantes de la théorie quantique des champs.

Les mathématiques de la théorie conformes des champs

L'algèbre de Lie des transformations conformes en deux dimensions est de dimension infinie ce qui a des conséquences remarquables pour les théories conformes des champs en 2D (Belavin, Polyakov, Zamolodchikov). De telles théories sont dans de nombreux cas presque entièrement déterminées par la façon dont les champs quantiques se modifient sous les transformations conformes, c'est-à-dire par rapport à l'action de l'algèbre de Virasoro. Plus généralement, la structure algébrique qui sous-tend la théorie conforme des champs est connue sous le nom d'algèbre d'opérateurs de sommets (ou, plus communément, d'algèbre d’opérateurs vertex). Parmi les exemples bien connus, citons celles correspondant à l'algèbre de Virasoro, aux algèbres de Kac-Moody affines et aux W-algèbres.

Une partie importante de la théorie conforme des champs est donc la théorie des représentations des algèbres d'opérateurs vertex et la façon dont leurs structures interagissent avec les applications physiques. Au départ, les chercheurs de ce domaine se sont surtout concentrés sur les théories conformes des champs dites rationnelles qui sont construites à partir d'une catégorie semi-simple finie de modules sur l'algèbre d'opérateurs vertex. Cependant, il existe de nombreuses applications physiques qui ne satisfont pas aux exigences de rationalité. Depuis le milieu des années 90, des classes de théories non rationnelles ont commencé à être explorées, notamment les théories conformes de champs logarithmiques sur lesquelles l'hamiltonien n'est pas diagonalisable. Cette recherche demeure très active en mathématique et en physique mathématique et sera au centre de ce programme intensif.

Symétries quantiques et catégories tensorielles

L'importance des catégories tensorielles en physique mathématique est apparue à la fin des années 80 avec les travaux de Moore et Seiberg sur la théorie conforme des champs et la formule de Verlinde, et au début des années 90 avec les constructions combinatoires de Reshetikhin et Turaev sur les invariants de liens et 3-manifoldes. Dans ce contexte, les catégories tensorielles encodent les symétries des théories conformes des champs et des théories de champs topologiques. Ainsi, tout comme les groupes encodent les symétries classiques, les catégories tensorielles fournissent un langage unifié pour encoder les symétries qui apparaissent dans de nombreux contextes quantiques, y compris ceux mentionnés ci-dessus.

L'étude des catégories tensorielles, en particulier celles liées aux applications susmentionnées (catégories de fusion et catégories tensorielles modulaires), est désormais un domaine extrêmement important, en lien avec les algèbres de Hopf (et les groupes quantiques) et structures relatives. La relation de ces catégories avec les invariants de liens et de nœuds, les théories de Temperley-Lieb-Jones et les représentations des groupes de tresses en fait l'outil mathématique essentiel pour décrire correctement des applications physiques telles que le calcul quantique topologique et les phases topologiques de la matière.

Ces classes de catégories tensorielles sont finies et semi-simples ; elles sont donc judicieuses dans l'étude des théories conformes rationnelles et des théories des champs topologiques semi-simples. Une question importante, au centre des recherches actuelles, est d'identifier des classes de catégories plus générales dont les structures feront progresser notre compréhension des versions logarithmiques et non semi-simples de ces théories physiques. Grâce à la rencontre d'experts internationaux des deux communautés, ce programme intensif fera émerger des collaborations pouvant résoudre cette question cruciale. On espère également de nouveaux résultats dans des applications d'un autre genre. Par exemple, les catégories non semi-simples donnent de nouveaux invariants des liens et des 3-manifoldes intéressants.