Overview

[ Français ]

p-adic cohomology, p-adic families of modular forms, and p-adic L-functions

The workshop will be devoted to the varied and fruitful interactions between p-adic cohomology theories, the theory of p-adic deformations of modular forms and Galois representations, and the construction of p-adic L-functions arising from the latter using techniques drawn from the former, with special emphasis on their rich array of arithmetic applications.

The field of p-adic automorphic forms has seen a huge development in the last decades with the construction of p-adic families in many new context. Among this one can cite Hansen's construction of eigenvarieties using overconvergent cohomology, and the coherent approach using (partial) Igusa towers of Andreatta –Iovita –Pilloni. There have been immediate applications to the construction of p-adic L-functions in families and to the proof of several instances of the conjectures by Greenberg and Benois on trivial zeroes, such as the work of Barrera –Dimitrov–Jorza.

But the existence of these eigenvarieties have proved to be useful also for the study of many other interesting arithmetic problems.

The first example is given by the applications to the Bloch –I Kato conjecture. Bloch and Kato conjectured that the most interesting arithmetic information concerning varieties (and more generally, geometric Galois representations) are contained in two objects: the Selmer group and the L-function. They also conjecture that all the information coming from the Selmer group can be recovered from the L-function. Some special cases of this conjecture have been proven: we cite for example the work of Bellaiche–Chenevier for unitary groups and Skinner –Urban for elliptic curves in rank less or equal than 2. The key ingredients in these works is the use of deformations of automorphic forms and their Galois representations in p-adic families to construction elements in the Selmer group.

Another example is the study of local properties of Galois representations and the corresponding p-adic Hodge theory. We cite the work of Kedlaya, Pottharst, and Xiao concerning the existence of triangulations in families for p-adic representations of p-adic fields arising from finite slope automorphic forms. Other related results are the works on the smoothness of eigenvarieties at critical points by Bergdall and Breuil –IHellmann –ISchraen; it has implication on the existence of companion forms, which are different p-adic automorphic forms sharing the same Galois representations (such as a CM form and its Serre antiderivative).

Very recently two new geometric approaches have been developed in the study of p-adic families and their L-functions.

Andreatta and Iovita introduced the idea of vector bundles with marked sections, which not only allows one to recover their previous constructions of eigenvarieties but let them p-adic interpolate in families the de Rham cohomology of the modular curve and the Gauss–Manin connection. They can then construct triple product p-adic L-functions for finite slope families and anticyclotomic p-adic L-functions when p is inert in the CM field.

At the same time, the introduction of perfectoid spaces and adic geometric has brought new and fresh ideas in the field: one can cite the new construction of classical eigenvarieties by Chojecki–Hansen–Johansson using functions on the perfectoid tower of modular curves and the construction by Kriz of a new p-adic Maass–Shimura operator and anticyclotomic p-adic L-functions in the inert case. His strategy relies on Scholze's Hodge to de Rham comparison isomorphism, which has been recently upgraded to an integral comparison map by Bhatt–Morrow–Scholze.

These new geometric tools have already allowed the construction of new p-adic L-functions; the aim of the workshop is to bring together arithmetic people with the experts in these two innovative approaches to find new exciting applications, both to global (Galois representations and their L-functions) and local (integral p-adic Hodge theory) problems.

Survol

[ English ]

Cohomologie p-adique, familles p-adiques de formes modulaires et fonctions L p-adiques

L'atelier sera consacré aux interactions variées et fructueuses entre les théories de la cohomologie p-adique, la théorie des déformations p-adiques des formes modulaires et des représentations de Galois, et à la construction de fonctions L p-adiques issues de ces dernières à l'aide de techniques les premiers, avec un accent particulier sur leur riche éventail d'applications arithmétiques.

Le domaine des formes automorphes p-adiques a connu un énorme développement au cours des dernières décennies avec la construction de familles p-adiques dans de nombreux nouveaux contextes. Parmi ceux-ci, on peut citer la construction par Hansen de variétés propres utilisant la cohomologie super-convergente, et l'approche cohérente utilisant des tours Igusa (partielles) d'Andreatta – Iovita–Pilloni. Des applications immédiates ont été apportées à la construction de fonctions L p-adiques dans des familles et à la preuve de plusieurs exemples de conjectures de Greenberg et Benois sur des zéros triviaux, tels que les travaux de Barrera –Dimitrov–Jorza.

Mais l'existence de ces variétés propres s'est révélée utile également pour l'étude de nombreux autres problèmes arithmétiques intéressants.

Le premier exemple est donné par les applications à la conjecture de Bloch – Kato. Bloch et Kato ont supposé que les informations arithmétiques les plus intéressantes concernant les variétés (et plus généralement les représentations géométriques de Galois) sont contenues dans deux objets: le groupe de Selmer et la fonction L. Ils supposent également que toutes les informations provenant du groupe Selmer peuvent &eacirc;tre récupérées à partir de la fonction L. Quelques cas particuliers de cette hypothèse ont été démontrés: citons par exemple les travaux de Bellaiche –Chenevier pour les groupes unitaires et de Skinner–Urban pour les courbes elliptiques de rang inférieur ou égal à 2. Les ingrédients clés de ces travaux sont l'utilisation de déformations de formes automorphes et leurs représentations de Galois dans les familles p-adiques aux éléments de construction du groupe de Selmer.

Un autre exemple est l'étude des propriétés locales des représentations de Galois et de la théorie de Hodge p-adique correspondante. Nous citons les travaux de Kedlaya, Pottharst et Xiao concernant l'existence de triangulations dans des familles pour des représentations p-adiques de champs p-adiques issus de formes automorphes à pente finie. D'autres résultats connexes sont les travaux sur la régularité des variétés propres en des points critiques de Bergdall et Breuil –Hellmann–Schraen; elle a des implications sur l'existence de formes compagnes, qui sont différentes formes automorphes p-adiques partageant les mêmes représentations de Galois (telles qu'une forme CM et son antiderivatif de Serre).

Très récemment, deux nouvelles approches géométriques ont été développées dans l'étude des familles p-adiques et de leurs fonctions L.

Andreatta et Iovita ont introduit l'idée des ensembles de vecteurs à sections marquées, ce qui permet non seulement de retrouver leurs constructions antérieures de variétés propres, mais de les laisser interpoler de manière p-adique dans des familles la cohomologie de Rham de la courbe modulaire et la connexion de Gauss-Manin. Ils peuvent ensuite construire des fonctions L p-adiques à triple produit pour les familles à pente finie et des fonctions L p-adiques anticyclotomiques lorsque p est inerte dans le champ CM.

Dans le m&eacirc;me temps, l'introduction d'espaces perfectoïdes et d'adic géométrique a apporté de nouvelles idées: nous pouvons citer la nouvelle construction de variétés propres classiques de Chojecki – Hansen – Johansson qui utilise des fonctions de la tour perfectoïde des courbes modulaires et de la construction. par Kriz d'un nouvel opérateur p-adique Maass – Shimura et de fonctions L p-adiques anticyclotomiques dans le cas inerte. Sa stratégie repose sur l'isomorphisme de comparaison de Hodge à de Rham de Scholze, récemment mis à niveau par Bhatt –I Morrow –I Scholze pour devenir une carte de comparaison intégrale.

Ces nouveaux outils géométriques ont déjà permis la construction de nouvelles fonctions L p-adiques; le but de l'atelier est de réunir des spécialistes de l'arithmétique et des experts de ces deux approches novatrices pour trouver de nouvelles applications intéressantes, à la fois aux problèmes globaux (représentations de Galois et leurs fonctions L) et locaux (théorie de Hodge p-adique intégrale).